Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-10-2012, 09:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Talking

A solution for doorbells you can't hear?

Hey guys,

Im an engineer working on a DIY project that solves a common problem: doorbells you can't hear.

It's a wireless doorbell which gives you the option to send a photo of who is at the door directly to your phone. The wireless doorbell has 3 modes: chime mode only, photo mode only, and chime/photo mode.

I'd appreciate it if anyone has opinions/suggestions for my "photo" doorbell project because I want this to be the best project I can make.

biz123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:21 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,470

Your phone needs a Ding-A- Ling / Photo mode.

SeniorSitizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:25 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fairview View Post
Your phone needs a Ding-A- Ling / Photo mode.
I'm also working on an iPhone app which alerts you with a picture.
Old 10-10-2012, 01:17 PM   #4
Too Short? Cut it Again!

Rewards Points: 2,000

Great idea! Keep me posted! Just because I am sure you need other things to think about? My "doorbell" is floors below me. There is a common camera that works currently through a closed circuit television circuit but I dumped my television and land phone ages ago. I find I have no need for either anymore. It should be no major problem to hook my end of the current buzzer to a transmitter of some kind though?

Last edited by user1007; 10-10-2012 at 01:20 PM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:26 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
Great idea! Keep me posted!
I will...

There are already systems which allow you to put a video camera on the front door and have that video feed transmitted to your iPhone or other smartphone. You can even talk to people at your door through your phone.