Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-20-2007, 11:38 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Solid Counter Top for Bathroom - Can I cut it

Hey Y'all
Newbie here - love the sight.

I just moved into a house and the half bath needs a little updating. I found some Soild Counter tops at an outlet store for a good price. I am not sure what they are made of but they look like a composite and have the sink molded right in. The problem with the bath is that the vanity is 36" in a 36" cove leaving no overhang for the vanity top. I could re-laminate the top (it's not out of the question) but I'd love to buy a top and just install it. Is there a way to cut the composite tops? If so I'd love to hear some suggestions. Most of the tops have a built in backsplash which will create a bit of trouble.
I was thinking of cutting with my circular saw or possilby trying to run the router down the sides. I need to remove about 3/8" +/- on each side.

screamon demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 07:03 PM   #2
remodeling pro

Rewards Points: 500

You are most likely looking at what are known as "cultured marble" tops, as I don't know of any of the solid surfacing products (Corian, Swanstone, etc) that are distributed in a manner that would have them show up at an outlet store. But even if it would be, all of the products are worked with common tools.

Cultured marble can be cut with carbide saw blades (which may leave a few chips along the edge in the gel coat, which will be covered by the end splashes), or masonry cutting stone blades or an inexpensive diamond blade ( about $30 at HD/Lowes). Corian and the other similiar products cut better with carbide or diamond blades as oppossed to the masonry blades, but they will work .

troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 08:04 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500