Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2009, 09:05 PM   #1
Apprentice
 
UpComingBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stoughton, MASS
Posts: 68
Share |
Lightbulb

Software for computers, involving house plans


I'm trying to find software for my computer that you can build your own house plans. then take a 3d tour through it. My cousins ex husband use to have a program about 6 years ago. He made his own blue prints, it had a lumber list, and even the money it could cost.

Just wanted to know if you guys knew any software for a windows vista that I could use.

I looked on amazon.com and I found really good looking programs but I want a second opinion before I buy something I don't know too much about.

Thank you

__________________
>>SooN<<
UpComingBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 09:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


Any plans you come across by software will need to be stamped by an architect or an engineer before a building permit is issued.
Is this really a viable option?
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 09:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


I used Punch software & Broderbund 3D architect at this house & the last house

***Those were the last ones I used. I waited & did not upgrade to a Vista PC until all my plans were submitted & approved & mostly built. I do not see a version on their web-site for Vista

They do have a TurboFLOORPLAN software for Vista - not familiar with it

The last house "only" involved adding an unfinished 2nd floor as a means to put a new roof over the whole house
Standard 2x framing, nothing out of the ordinary
No engineer stamp was needed on the plans I submitted

This house the 3 story addition I again did all the plns
The beam sizes were all engineered & sizes stamped (free at a local lumber co)
That's all I had to do

Results will vary by location
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 10:05 PM   #4
Apprentice
 
UpComingBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stoughton, MASS
Posts: 68
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


im not going to submit anything to my town or an architect. This is just for personal use. Maybe a couple years down the road I would submit a blueprint and maybe a plot plan, but after following codes and everything else.

I just want a program to use to get more familiar with blueprints and mess around when winter comes around and I'm stuck in my house.
__________________
>>SooN<<
UpComingBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:39 AM   #5
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


Chief Architect if it's in the budget ($2,500 for full version, but I think they have a h/o version for much less...

http://www.chiefarchitect.com/

These are some recent basement drawings using chief:









Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:42 PM   #6
Apprentice
 
UpComingBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stoughton, MASS
Posts: 68
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


wow.. that program looks crazy. $2500 eek, thats steep. The ones on amazon are like 20-60$. But i dont even know if they're good
__________________
>>SooN<<
UpComingBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:46 PM   #7
Apprentice
 
UpComingBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stoughton, MASS
Posts: 68
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


These are the ones from amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss?ur...ds=house+plans
__________________
>>SooN<<
UpComingBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:46 PM   #8
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


I use it for the work I do so the cost made sense. Like I said, they have a h/o version that's much less expensive (but not $20-60).

Here it is on amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss?ur...signer&x=0&y=0

99-149 looks like. And here's a user's forum: http://hometalk.homedesignersoftware...isplay.php?f=2
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:50 PM   #9
Apprentice
 
UpComingBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stoughton, MASS
Posts: 68
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


I was trying to find something like that. Can the ones that go for 100-150$ do the same tasks a 2500$ can do?

Whats the difference. I want to make blueprints, and look at the house. The pictures you posted are phonominal.
__________________
>>SooN<<
UpComingBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:59 PM   #10
Apprentice
 
UpComingBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stoughton, MASS
Posts: 68
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


As a beginner you think I could pick up those kind of programs easily? I read some reviews and a couple say "not for beginners." But Im in school for building construction/cabinetmaking right now. Last quarter we had a blue print reading class for 10 weeks, And I'm in class now learning about the one and two family dwellings for building codes.

I'm familiar with building construction not so much the software of the home designer
__________________
>>SooN<<
UpComingBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 04:06 PM   #11
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


Like any software, expect to take some time to learn it. I'd expect to put 20-40 hours into learning to start to get comfortable with it, ymmv.

You'll catch on to some things quickly and others will take more work, just the nature of the beast. I've used chief for 7 years now, and there's a ton of stuff I still don't know.

I'd look around on the forum link I posted to get an idea of what the software is capable of, as I haven't used any version but the "pro" version, but I do know the "home" vers. is based off the pro vers., but with fewer features.
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 04:08 PM   #12
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


If you want to see some pics from people who can really run the software check this thread out:

http://chieftalk.com/showthread.php?t=36571
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 04:10 PM   #13
Apprentice
 
UpComingBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stoughton, MASS
Posts: 68
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


Will do.

Thank u, Timmy
__________________
>>SooN<<
UpComingBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 04:13 PM   #14
Member
 
Jay123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North of Atlanta
Posts: 621
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


You're welcome. Also, there might be a chance that you can order through your school, I know the pro version has a big discount for the student version.

Good luck.

J
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 11:57 PM   #15
Theres more then one way.
 
iMisspell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 244
Default

Software for computers, involving house plans


http://www.google.com/search?q=autodesk
is another "big" one with a price tag too, not sure if they have any slimmed down versions.

When you get into CAD programs like this, they have full-blown course about the programs because they are so involved. Like the posters above has stated, hes been using Chief Architect for years and theres still more to learn. Chief Architect is crazy, you can do all kinds of things, plumbing and electrical risers, lighting. I down loaded a trail a while back and lost about three full days of my life after become indulged in that program, it was fun (having a small CAD back-round is was still hard, but fun).

[EDIT]
I know Chief Architect has training videos (pretty sure they are on their site somewhere) and i would assume AutoCAD does also.
Makes it much easyer to learn if your the "hands on" kind of person and not too good with books.

_
_

__________________
.
~ What was once an opinion, became a fact, to be later proven wrong ~

My current learning experience - 22x22 addition - Work shop, music-room, master bedroom above..

Last edited by iMisspell; 09-03-2009 at 12:01 AM.
iMisspell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 05:48 AM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 10:09 PM
Brick and block house footer question. ourzoo Building & Construction 2 07-01-2006 02:57 PM
Stock House Plans DebandDon Building & Construction 2 12-09-2004 04:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.