Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2011, 09:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Smoke Detector alarm


Hi;
This morning our interconnected smoke detectors started alarming.
These are of the photoelectric type, models: Firex PAD, and Firex Kidde model PE120.

While the alarms were sounding, I checked most of the detectors, but could not determine which alarm was the source. The red light was not flashing on any unit I looked at, although I did not look at all of the units.
We did not detect any smoke, or unusual smell anywhere in the house.

Then, I pressed the test/reset button on the one I happened to be closest to (which did not have a flashing red light), and the alarms were silenced.
The alarms have not gone off again so far (it has been about an hour since the event).

What I would like to know is if pressing the test/reset button on any unit will silence the alarms throughout the house regardless of which one set off the alarm.

If the alarms go off again, I am going to check each unit to see if I can determine which one was the source. But wondering whether there could be a defective unit, which would cause the alarm but not have its red light flashing.

Thanks for your help/suggestion.

FW

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 12:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Smoke Detector alarm


If none of these is a CO detector, just disconnect one at a time until you find the offending one.
How old are these detectors? Dates on the back. If 10 years, replace them.

__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 04:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Smoke Detector alarm


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
If none of these is a CO detector, just disconnect one at a time until you find the offending one.
How old are these detectors? Dates on the back. If 10 years, replace them.
Some of them are more than 10yrs old, and I am preparing to order new ones, however I have this question that maybe you, or someone else here can answer:

The system has the old (discontinued) Firex PAD type (model 120-890) units, so I have been replacing them with Kidde PE 120, which is (according to all that I have read online) the only model that can be interconnected with the old Firex ones.

If I replace all of the old Firex units, am I still restricted to the Kidde PE 120, or can I then use other Kidde models, such as the dual sensor PI 2010?
If so, that would make the most sense, since I think I would rather have the dual sensor protection.

While removing each detector to clean and inspect it, I found one that had a stuck reset button, so I left that one out until I get a new one.

Thanks for your help

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 06:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Smoke Detector alarm


I would replace all of them. This way there are no compatibility issues.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 02:33 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Smoke Detector alarm


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
I would replace all of them. This way there are no compatibility issues.
Great idea mate..!!
That's the best way to avoid compatibility issues..!!
2011 Best Digital Cameras

Last edited by Hodge; 09-19-2011 at 12:46 AM.
Hodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 09:32 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Smoke Detector alarm


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hodge View Post
Great idea mate..!!
That's the best way to avoid compatibility issues..!!
Some of the units are only 1 or 2 years old, but those are the Kidde models.
I think I read somewhere that any of the Kidde interconnected models will work together.

Thanks

Frank

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on installing Smoke Detectors danielrg Electrical 10 08-30-2011 12:08 PM
How do you stop cigarette smoke coming through walls? ACTed General DIY Discussions 6 08-16-2011 03:14 PM
Smoke from Newly Installed Furnace Handymannabee Safety 2 06-13-2011 08:14 AM
Smoke Alarms Just Would Not Stop lundyg Electrical 2 12-30-2009 08:09 AM
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 09:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.