Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-14-2010, 10:05 AM   #1

Share |

semi finished attic---where to start?

first of all, i've been somewhat schizophrenic on these boards posting lots of pics and questions about various projects, some big and some small. thanks so much for all of the tips/pointers. obviously, I only have the resources to tackle a few of them in the next few months, but I use the month of March to think big and by April I will have narrowed my focus to a few doable projects. I am a teacher so i have a good bit of time home in the summer to work with.

A fairly large project that I'd like to get some feedback on is my partially finished attic. Here are some pics below. Please excuse the clutter. I've been spending the past few weeks sorting all of the stuff we lugged from our first house. A lot of this will end up being trashed, but at least I know what we've got. I'll blame the wife who is a bit of a hoarder. I hoard books, but that's about it.

inside crawl space (right side)

crawl space (left side)

There is an electric baseboard up here. I've never used it. The rest of the house has radiators, and my neighbor has a radiator in her attic. I think it must have been removed.

I know insulation is really important. And I am not sure what exactly I am dealing with in this space. Any tips/advice are appreciated greatly!

Last edited by joetab24; 03-14-2010 at 10:08 AM.
joetab24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 10:46 AM   #2

I guess I may be confused. It looks to me if the attic room may be finished already if all the clutter was removed? (Don't be offended, I have 2 sheds that you would have to climb over stuff to get to the back side )