Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-09-2008, 06:11 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Screws with no grip!

hello, I'm a newbie on here, I'm trying to unscrew some hinges from my kitchen cabinet , but the grips on the screws for the screwdriver/drill are virtually obliterated and resemble a large circle instead of a cross. Has anyone any ideas how I can get these screws out?

regards

blackie_jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 07:35 AM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Rewards Points: 2,000

Screws with no grip!

I have one of these kits and have used it with good results:

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_1...0P?vName=Tools

Here's some more information: http://www.epinions.com/content_120395959940

For future reference: http://www.wikihow.com/Remove-a-Stripped-Screw

AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2008, 02:04 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 25

Screws with no grip!

I would have to defer to Atlantic's greater skill, but I found that tool useless.

The problem with kitchen cabinet screws is that the top of the screw is often filled with paint. I thought I could just use the tools Atlantic linked to to just get a good bite through the paint and thereby avoid the tedious job of getting the paint out with a utility knife. That did not work at all for me. The tool is very hard and sharp and will almost instantly remove the philips indentation if it slips at all, which it does for me unless I have removed the paint from the screw heads. But if I remove the paint from the screw heads I don't need the tool.