Rust Question - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 11:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Rust Question


I set a j bolt anchor into concrete this afternoon. I mistakenly set it an 1/8" too high for the simpson connectors. I will probably need to grind off 1/8" from the top of the bolt to make them fit. Will this cause an appreciable rust problem where I take off the HDG finish.

Advertisement

ovahimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:04 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Rust Question


Anything left out in the environment will rust or corrode over time. There is just no way around it.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:08 AM   #3
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,673
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

Rust Question


What kinds of simpson connector are you using where the bolt height is an issue?

As for rust....don't worry about it.....after awhile it acts like LocTight.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:24 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Rust Question


Thanks for the replies. I'm using the ABU44 standoff post base. The separate standoff platform won't sit down all the way because the bolts protrude a bit too much from the surface of the concrete.
ovahimba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 01:43 AM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,673
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

Rust Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by ovahimba View Post
Thanks for the replies. I'm using the ABU44 standoff post base. The separate standoff platform won't sit down all the way because the bolts protrude a bit too much from the surface of the concrete.
Oh...ok......yea.....just hack off what you need.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 10:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 01:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 09:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 05:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts