Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2010, 03:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Router dust control


I have a Porter-Cable 690lr router for which I am trying to find a dust collector fitting. I'm planning on making a large number of cuts (I don't have or have access to a TS) to build a cubby hole type storage cabinet with adjustable verticle dividers. Of course, the sides will have cuts to accommodate the top, bottom, and horizontal shelves. The horizontal shelves will have grooves to accept the movable vertical dividers. I will be using MDF and there will be lots of dust that I prefer not to breath even though I will be wearing a high quality mask there will still dust all over the work area.

I will appreciate your hints and leads. I have done considerable research only to find that PC has discontinued its dust collector attachment, but I think that it only fit on the bottom which would not be useful in any case since when one is cutting groves in a surface one must capture the dust from the top.

Thank you for help and I look forward to you replies.

Novice Jack

novice Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 03:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,722
Default

Router dust control


They sell a tool adapter for Shop-Vacs at the home improvement stores that has 3 sizes.

Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 01:22 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Router dust control


I'll look into that right away. I hope to get into my project tomorrow, Tuesday.

Novice Jack
novice Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 11:27 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Router dust control


Jim, I just got back from Home Depot and visiting HD and Lowe's web sites and no luck anywhere. Can you be more specific about where I should look. I have also tried Rockler and the Porter-Cable customer support people.
novice Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 12:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,721
Default

Router dust control


Jim's right. I have seen them in most chain stores, as well as my local lumber yards, etc. I'm not going to look at Rockler's, because you need to decide what you want, but just to be sure that I wasn't loosing it, I just looked at the PC site, and they do have at least a 24" one under accessories.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 06:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,722
Default

Router dust control


This is what I was talking about.
http://www.lowes.com/pd_37045-20097-...uantity_sold|1
They also have these if you have the small hose version Shop Vac.
http://www.lowes.com/pd_98553-20097-...uantity_sold|1
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 07:05 AM   #7
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,426
Default

Router dust control


Rockler sells a universal dust port for edge routing.

http://www.rockler.com/product.cfm?p...%20dust%20port

I don't believe there is an aftermarket port for this router to do off-edge routing. Festool makes a router with a built in dust collection port.
http://www.mcfeelys.com/product/574267.

At this list price, you could get a decent table saw.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 10:45 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4
Default

Router dust control


Thanks folks, after lots of research I too have come to the conclusion that there is no such thing as the item that I am seeking, an attachment that fits on the router to collect the dust as it is being generated. The attachment that I have for the router table works great, but for this job I only needed four table cuts and over 50 free hand cuts using a clamp/guide. It appears that one must purchase a router that already has the dust collection feature build-in or one is out-of-luck.

You're right about the cost of that particular router; for that kind of money I could have a table saw. Now I just need a little more space in my garage, but don't we all.

I have completed my little project and am not painting it. Making it out of MDF is convenient, but it weights a ton.

You have all been good buds to try to help and I appreciate it.

Novice Jack

novice Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring blower for dust control orsillac Electrical 1 07-04-2010 09:51 AM
Ceiling Fan Speed Control czars HVAC 0 01-14-2010 08:06 PM
How a saw stand's dust box work Klawman Carpentry 3 12-07-2009 03:19 AM
Use stone dust under bricks to form a border around flower bed Curious123 General DIY Discussions 4 08-23-2009 03:41 PM
Control Dust in Basement Remodel Siamese Remodeling 4 03-19-2008 02:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.