Remove Plate From Woodstove? - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2012, 02:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


The woodstove in my cabin has a metal plate inside the goes from the bottom rear to the top of the front. I guess it so the heat gets pushed out but it also pushed a lot of smoke out at times. Can it be removed without creating any problems and what was its purpose?

Advertisement

panteramatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:37 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


It sounds like the (reburner?) that makes the stove more efficient. I would leave it be and check your chimney to be sure it doesn't need cleaning. There are other things that may be the (smoke) problem as well, but it's not likely to be the design of the stove.

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


I use stove pipe and its hardly been used so it cant be dirty yet. It doesnt take much smoke at all in a small cabin to make it unpleasant. If I remove the plate I could also fit more wood in there, but I dont want to cause more harm than good. Ive just never seen a woodstove with a plate in it before.
panteramatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:18 AM   #4
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,831
Rewards Points: 2,296
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


Quote:
Originally Posted by panteramatt View Post
I use stove pipe and its hardly been used so it cant be dirty yet. It doesnt take much smoke at all in a small cabin to make it unpleasant. If I remove the plate I could also fit more wood in there, but I dont want to cause more harm than good. Ive just never seen a woodstove with a plate in it before.
Ayuh,... Sounds like the chimney is to short, 'n ya don't have proper draft...
Bondo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 06:38 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


Its at least 2 feet higher than the peak. You think it needs to be higher?
panteramatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:03 PM   #6
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


Is the chimney clear of animal nests and things? No soot built up from last season? Any weird bends that could have sagged or is it straight out the top? No dampers closed anywhere? A fave song comes to mind...


Last edited by user1007; 09-18-2012 at 08:07 PM. Reason: Added a Christmas Song
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


I cant see soot being a problem as it hasnt been used that much at all. Theres 2 bends in the pipe but nothing sags.
panteramatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:28 PM   #8
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


Is this a new problem by the way? Any change in what you are burning? You would be surprised how fast soot and other deposits can build up.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 85
Default

Remove plate from woodstove?


No. It was way worse til I raised the pipe outside.Dont even know how I would check the pipe without taking it apart.

Advertisement

panteramatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repair/replace sill plate and joist ends heybales Building & Construction 5 02-16-2013 11:33 PM
Roof Repair for Cinderblock Garage (Top Plate & Joists) Boiler98 Building & Construction 5 01-06-2012 02:20 PM
2 Gang Wall Plate with one switch and blank? ctandc Electrical 2 12-13-2011 12:39 PM
How to remove outlet from tiled wall, then patch drywall and retile? Jakobud Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 18 10-15-2011 05:05 PM
Replace Sill Plate to Basement Block Wall - No anchor bolts DoItMyselfToo Building & Construction 4 09-10-2011 04:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts