Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 10:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 81
Question

remote garage door opener


I was thinking of doing this:

http://mydooropener.com/

Anyone have experience with it at all?

vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Amateuralex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 282
Rewards Points: 250
Default

remote garage door opener


It seems like a huge pain to wire ethernet to your garage door opener. Look for a wireless product?

Amateuralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:43 AM   #3
Coconut Pete's paella!
 
CoconutPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC / Denmark
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

remote garage door opener


I'm all for doing cool stuff over wi-fi (thermostat etc) but I cannot for the life of me think of a situation I would be in where I would want to open my garage door when I'm not in my car in front of it...............
CoconutPete is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CoconutPete For This Useful Post:
firehawkmph (04-05-2013), joecaption (04-05-2013), r0ckstarr (04-06-2013)
Old 04-05-2013, 10:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 81
Default

remote garage door opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by Amateuralex View Post
It seems like a huge pain to wire ethernet to your garage door opener. Look for a wireless product?
I agree, they do have a wireless option .. basically you are getting a router and making it a client and then hooking up ethernet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoconutPete View Post
I'm all for doing cool stuff over wi-fi (thermostat etc) but I cannot for the life of me think of a situation I would be in where I would want to open my garage door when I'm not in my car in front of it...............
we only have one garage door opener :D...plus it would be fun to put together!
vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:35 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,262
Rewards Points: 528
Default

remote garage door opener


why? drive up push the botton on the remote that came with it. drive in close the door. seems like a waste of time.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 11:39 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 81
Default

remote garage door opener


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nailbags View Post
why? drive up push the botton on the remote that came with it. drive in close the door. seems like a waste of time.
2 cars, 1 remote ... unless you can easily program a second for cheap?
vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 07:42 PM   #7
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

remote garage door opener


Look online and order another remote. Garage doors are there for a purpose, not to be fun. There is no real reason to open them remotely. You shouldn't open or close your door without being in view of it. Program your furnace and lights to your smartphone if you want. If it goes haywire, won't really hurt anything.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 12:30 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 81
Default

remote garage door opener


found it for $20 on ebay 8)

vivithemage is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vivithemage For This Useful Post:
firehawkmph (04-06-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MWBC to Garage Questions benleef Electrical 3 02-22-2012 11:02 AM
Craftsman Garage door car remote won t work, new battery and remote. William Cook Appliances 6 01-17-2012 09:19 PM
Garage door remote MISS DEE Electrical 5 06-23-2011 06:34 PM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.