Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-04-2013, 09:35 PM   #1

Share |

re: garage door troubleshooting

I have a old lift-master chain drive garage door. For some reason today, when i press the open button, i can hear the motor buzz for a split second. If i press the button only 10 seconds later, there is a click from the motor. The door won't open

On first visual inspection, i can see the torion spring looks okay.
the chain does seem to be sagging slightly on one side (see picture below).

side note: earlier this year, i dialed the "closed position" as close to the ground as i could. I don't know if these two things are related.

any thought on what this may be, or what i should investigate is appreciated.

re: garage door troubleshooting-img-20130304-00440.jpg

re: garage door troubleshooting-img-20130304-00437.jpg
gramps416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:38 PM   #2

Looks like you have it come down to hard.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:06 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Looks like you have it come down to hard.
Absolutely! The track is forced up too far in the picture and holding way too much tension on the chain & drive. You might have to pull the rip cord to get it free.
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:19 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
Absolutely! The track is forced up too far in the picture and holding way too much tension on the chain & drive. You might have to pull the rip cord to get it free.
how is this process done? i pulled the rip cord, but nothing seems to happen.
once it is free, what is the next step?
Old 03-05-2013, 02:00 PM   #5
Remodeler