A Question About Cabinet Knobs And Continuity... - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-05-2009, 11:01 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

A question about cabinet knobs and continuity...

Hi everyone!

I just bought a condo, and I cannot wait to get in there and play!!! (I take possession in June). It is my first home purchase, and I am very new at the whole DIY thing. I could ask a million questions, but I am going to keep it at this for now:

In the kitchen, I am keeping the oak cabinets. Normally, I am not a fan of oak cabinets, but these ones are actually rather beautiful- large, flat paneled, Shaker style... a nice, rich, neutral (i.e. not too orange) colour, etc. However, I will be replacing the hideous pink countertop with a dark charcoal, and the old, white linoleum with charcoal tiles. Naturally, therefore, I will be going with the matte, black-ish oil-rubbed bronze cabinet pulls and knobs to tie it all together.

Meanwhile, in both of the bathrooms, there is more oak. Like, this place is just filled to the brim with oak cabinets! It is just a little too much oak for me to handle. I have decided I would like to sand and paint the bathroom cabinets a nice antiquey/ distressed black, leaving the white countertop and the white walls and sink, and put in some black and white floor tiles- checker style. With that look, I feel like a nice chrome or satin nickel knob would look good, but I am replacing my kitchen knobs with the oil rubbed bronze, and was planning on keeping the continuity throughout the whole place, replacing doorknobs and closet door knobs with the same style.

Do people "do" satin nickel in one room, oil rubbed bronze in the next? What are your thoughts/ opinions? (Should it matter this much to me? Ha ha. I might be a little obsessed... er, focused... at the moment....)