Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-07-2011, 07:42 AM   #1

Share |

Plumbing into my meter..

Hey everyone, my first time here. That's right I'm a newbie! I'm going to be replacing the plumbing from my meter to the house " yuck " currently it is underground from the meter to approx middle of the house. Is it necessary to dig a trench under my house and keep the new plumbing buried all the way to the middle of the house or can I leave it above ground once I get under the house? Thanks

Lynchmob1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 07:51 AM   #2

Plumbing into my meter..

Do you have a basement? slab? crawlspace? What is your location? The pipe can certainly come into the basement through the wall. I am assuming you have crawlspace. If freezing is not an issue in your region then I don't see why it needs to be buried under the house.

Old 10-07-2011, 07:51 AM   #3

Plumbing into my meter..

There are plumbing codes that will dictate what you do and how you do it. You should be familiar with these before picking up any tool.
It will help if you post where you are located. Plumbing in Florida will be different then plumbing in North Dakota.
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
Thurman (10-09-2011)
Old 10-07-2011, 08:10 AM   #4

Plumbing into my meter..

Im located in southeastern Oklahoma where our winters are very unpredictable! We may go from sunny sky's with no snow for 3 weeks to freezing rain and no power for 3 weeks! And as far as any city ordinance codes I will not have to comply. And yes I have crawlspace limited but still crawlspace.
Old 10-07-2011, 08:23 AM   #5

Plumbing into my meter..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynchmob1 View Post