Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-29-2012, 07:39 PM   #1

Share |

Planning to build First Spec Home, Need Advice

Hello all! This is my first post on the DIY Chatroom forum.

I wanted to ask a few questions about building spec houses. I recently purchased a lot where I plan to build two houses. Here is a link to a plan of the first house I am thinking of building: http://www.architecturaldesigns.com/...4-5295e7157500

I purchased the lot for about $6,000 in an old neighborhood where recently (2010-2011) 4 other spec houses were built and sold very quickly. I have never built a house before, but figured the above house plan would be the perfect size for me to start with.

So what comes first? Do I buy a blueprint? What about cost? permit, pluming, concrete foundation, lumber, siding, insulation etc? Approximately how much do you think it will cost me to build this first house?

Should I purchase the blueprint from that site or should I go get a local architect and have them design a similar plan? Which would be cheaper? I have a very tight budget and want this build to be as cost effective as possible. I am even considering using recycled materials in the construction (if that is legal) and marketing it as such. I really want to build as much as I can without having to get a construction loan.

Lastly, who qualifies for a construction loan? I must admit that I am currently out of work and plan to build this house in hopes of bringing in income. Am I out of my mind for believing that this will work (building this house) with no job and very little money?

Thanks Guys!
ahb2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:51 PM   #2

No money, no job, never built a house before, I just see no way anyone's going to even lend you the money.