Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2007, 08:52 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 60
Share |
Default

phone wire


I am instaling or repairing a phoneline in my house. the wire that is comming up the wall and throught the wall has 6 wires. green,white w/green,bule, white w/ blue, orange, white w/ orange. i tried connecting the wires up but i get not dial tone. i know the phone works cause it works every where else in the house. are there extra wires that i don't nee to connector what. what is going on and what wires need to be conected?

thanks

JAVAMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 10:43 AM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,670
Default

phone wire


Ayuh,......

Most residentail installations only use 2 of the wires,.......
Take a known working phone outlet apart,+ See which 2 the installer used......

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 09:21 PM   #3
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Default

phone wire


Like Bondo said, start by seeing which two colors are the "hot" pair ona working jack. Unfortunately along the way, someone could have switched "pairs" of colors multiple times during repair or addition of jacks.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 03:26 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,734
Default

phone wire


It will either be the Blue & Blue/White pair, or the Green & Green/White pair. You have a 3 Pair wire it sounds like (Green, Blue, Orange).
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 04:34 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

phone wire


You can use any pair you like, as long as you do the same on both ends.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 05:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

phone wire


You can use a simple headphone headset to hear which two wires are energized. Touch one to the tip and one above the black insulating collar. When you hear a dial tone, you're good to go.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 10:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 331
Default

phone wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by JAVAMAN View Post
I am instaling or repairing a phoneline in my house. the wire that is comming up the wall and throught the wall has 6 wires. green,white w/green,bule, white w/ blue, orange, white w/ orange. i tried connecting the wires up but i get not dial tone. i know the phone works cause it works every where else in the house. are there extra wires that i don't nee to connector what. what is going on and what wires need to be conected?

thanks
Analog phone lines use the four-color standard of red, yellow, green and black. As many others already stated, only two are actually used. However, the question appears to be which one of those 4 standard jack colors is connected to which one of your 6 non-standard colors. Sounding them out is the logical course of action as already recommended by others.

Or, if you can locate the junction box outside your house where the incoming line from your local telco terminates, perhaps you can see the scheme used from there into your home by sounding them out.
End Grain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 01:42 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,734
Default

phone wire


3 Pair non-bell wire (ie Cat-3) will have the pairs as described by the other person.

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phone Jack Hookup Problem kennykenny Electrical 18 12-07-2007 03:48 PM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM
Electrical outlet phone jack extension? mikehende Electrical 3 11-28-2007 08:05 PM
New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101 allen1466 Electrical 7 07-17-2007 11:46 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.