Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-01-2012, 05:39 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 250

Perhaps I should have been a structural engineer?

Found a company a couple miles from my home that does structural and civil engineering. My basement has jack posts every 6' right down the middle of what I want to finish into a large room (currently unfinished). Asked for a quote for them to give me an analysis on how big an I-beam it would take to displace the load, or what better ideas they had. They told me $400.

I am not an engineer, but I do own a small business and appreciate what others' time is worth. Is this along the lines of the cost of a structural engineer? I was thinking more in line with half that, but I've never consulted one before. Maybe there is a lot more involved here than I understand.

moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 05:46 PM   #2
Civil Engineer

Rewards Points: 2,126

Consider how much time it is going to take them. First, they have to visit your house. Takes at least 2 hours for all the measurements, travel time to and from house. Then they need to draw up the plans. You are going to submit to the building department? So you need plans. Then they probably have to talk to the building inspector. Maybe not, maybe so. In any case, by the time it is all done, they spend at least 4 hours, maybe more like 6 hours if there are any issues, you want to discuss how to install the beam, you want them to talk to your contractor to make sure your contractor understands everything. Maybe its 8 hours.