Pellet Stove Help - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 01:50 PM   #1
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

pellet stove help


Im having trouble with my pellet stove. Its an older stove from the 80's. It doesn't seem to burn the pellets hot enough. After a few hours, with the feed rate as slow as possible, the burn box seems to get very full. This makes the fire almost smolder instead of being hot, because there is too many pellets to burn. If i put it on faster burn rate it will go so overflown with pellets that it will put the fire out completely. What could be some causes of my pellets not burning hot enough?


im going to try another brand of pellets, but the kind i have should be ok. They are "americas best" pellets
http://www.woodpelletreviews.com/Rev...d-Pellets.html

Advertisement

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 02:05 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

pellet stove help


Don't pellet stoves have a fan that blows on the fire to make burn hotter? Is the fan blowing?

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

pellet stove help


it works kinda the opposite, it is an exhaust fan that pulls the air out, forcing air to come through the intake, but ya, its working. The pellet stove works, but i think if i left it on overnight the fire would be out and when i opened the door, pellets would come pouring out

Last edited by jimmy21; 11-29-2010 at 02:12 PM.
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 02:40 PM   #4
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

pellet stove help


i think i figured it out, ive been messing around with it all day. The tray on the bottom, that you pull out to clean wasn't all the way in. I noticed it had a slight gap, so i gave it some muscle and it moved a bit and tightened up, and instantly the fire in the burn pot just got super angry. Seems to be incinerating pellets now
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
circuit board repair for pellet stove mudmusic8 Electrical 4 06-03-2010 11:08 PM
Hooking up a non-equipped pellet stove to a home thermostat bobbyc HVAC 4 09-25-2009 03:24 PM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 06:37 PM
Finishing Basement with Pellet Stove BCav12861 Building & Construction 1 08-15-2008 10:16 PM
Pellet Stove Question webweever General DIY Discussions 4 03-15-2008 03:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts