DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

ordering windows

2K views 12 replies 7 participants last post by  AtlanticWBConst. 
#1 ·
Hello folks
I'm a JACK OF ALL TRADES MASTER OF NONE GUY.I've renovated a number of homes and have done most of it myself.I used to install flooring for a living and quote for same so a tape measure is not unfamiliar.I do have a problem now I am trying to rectify but am not having much luck . I've ordered 6 new windows recently only to discover the dimensions are reverse from my order sheet . I have discovered since ordering that the industry standard is width by height , I am confident I placed my order height by width as this is how it is written on my sheet . question : has anyone encountered this and if so have you been successful in any compensation .
Thanks
Yetman

#2 ·
As stated, the industry-standard window measurement dimension-template is that the first number is the width, the second number is the height = Width x Height.
If you gave the numbers (placed your order) as you stated: height by width, then you messed up.

I cannot state if the sales rep should have caught that or not, as I am not privy to the conversation's details.

Whether the company you ordered it from, or the sales rep can do anything to try and help you, I have no idea...

#3 ·
Expensive mistake! Generally if you have a long term relationship with a window company they will help you out as much as possible. If you ordered them from a retail store see if they are willing to sell the mis-ordered windows in their throw out bin and discount your new order.

Good luck and let us know how you make out.

#4 ·
Id try calling the salesman first.

This order sheet...was it supplied by the salesman or window comapny? If so does it state which dimension is written first? If you complied with the order sheet then it should their mistake.

If it simply looks like this ( ___ X ___ ) without a measurment description then you may be in trouble.

#5 ·