Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 09:45 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

old capacitor


Hi guys

does an old capacitor cause electrical equipment to consume more power ?

quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:57 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

old capacitor


No....

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

old capacitor


then why is my ac split unit drawing 16 amps when it should only draw 12.8 amps as it says in its manual ???
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:08 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

old capacitor


Yes, a weak or even wrong size capacitor will cause a motor to increase it's energy consumption. Replace the cap and see if there's a difference.

If no difference with a new capacitor, your motor is struggling and becoming weak.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 10:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

old capacitor


well i just tested the cap and i got a reading of 33 uF on the cap it says 40 uF do you thing this is why there is 3 amp extra current ?
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 11:14 PM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

old capacitor


Quote:
Originally Posted by quanchai View Post
well i just tested the cap and i got a reading of 33 uF on the cap it says 40 uF do you thing this is why there is 3 amp extra current ?
Most likely. There should be a +/- percentage number stated on the cap as well, right next to the 40uf. It would look something like +/- 6%. That number could be different than 6, I'm just using that number as an example.

At 10% (just a max percentage on average run caps but usually much bigger ones) less than 40 which is 36 uf the cap would be at it's weakest to assist the motor in it's normal operating range. You are well below 10% at 33 so your motor is struggling.

6% less then 40 (which is 2.4) would be 37.6 so anything lower than that would cause the motor to struggle to run. You get the idea.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 11:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

old capacitor


Thanks Doc

but what does the precentage mean ?
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:43 AM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

old capacitor


It's the percentage above or less than 40 (in your case) that the run cap is still good. You multiply 40 by whatever the percentage number is and then either add or subtract that percentage total to (again, in your case) the 40. Outside of that plus or minus and the cap is no good for the motor.

Once more and using 6% +/- of 40 as an example:

40 x 6% = 2.4


40 + 2.4 = 42.4 (so if your 40mfd cap read above 42.4mfd it would not be good for the motor it's running, the motor would spin too fast)

the opposite for 40mfd - 2.4 which would = 37.6 (and in this case if lower than 37.6, when the motor is running too slowly, it compensates by pulling more amps)

What you have is a run capacitor which is always in circuit of the motor and needs to be correctly sized and within that size range (mfd) to the motor to keep it running at it's design rpm.

A start capacitor drops out of circuit as soon as the motor is up to speed, within a fraction of a second usually, and then the motor is on it's own.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 08-01-2012 at 06:46 AM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 09:51 AM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,483
Rewards Points: 2,310
Default

old capacitor


How are you measuring the current? Do you know if your meter is accurate?

Have you considered using the meter on your load center? Turn off everything else in the house...run the AC for 15 min while seeing how many KW your using...x 4 and you will have your Kwh...from that...do the normal math....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:46 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

old capacitor


I am using a clamp meter to measure the current of the AC unit
quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 06:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

old capacitor


the split unit started to get over 13 amps after i got it recharged with gas

can it be that the unit is over charged ?

quanchai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace condensor fan motor? twags HVAC 43 07-22-2013 08:09 PM
capacitor blew again!! frocker HVAC 6 07-24-2012 08:42 PM
Run Capacitor Failed regularguy Electrical 6 01-06-2012 05:36 PM
run capacitor blew up caught fire in AC unit. saltshaker30 HVAC 2 07-01-2010 09:08 PM
Condenser motor and Capacitor confusion ryanru HVAC 5 06-26-2010 12:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.