Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-30-2010, 07:13 AM   #1

Share |

NOT TRYING to start a brand war! But Need Suggestions Please

Ok, so from what I am seeing Dewalt seems to be the contractors/professionals brand of choice!? I would LOVE to buy all Dewalt but there is no way I could afford them, nor "REALLY" justifiy them if I could. I am a computer geek by trade, but know my way around a workbench well enough, at least I think so. Anyway, I am working on renovating a 60's home, not doing MAJOR work, MOSTLY cosmetic but not strictly. (moving some water lines/ drain lines/ black iron gas lines,) drywall, refinishing floors etc. I would like to buy some decent tools, don't have to be Dewalt but not exactly looking at Harbor Freight either. (unless of course someone has experience that says this would be good enough). As I said I will not be using them to make a living, but don't want them break in the middle of a job either. Skil? Black and Decker? Milwilkie (sp?) etc?

Thank YOU

I am actually getting a Dewalt screwgun in trade for a .22 pellet gun off of Craiglist. Thought that was a pretty good trade?

Evil Scotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:18 AM   #2

MY preference is towards corded tools, if that makes a difference?

Old 11-30-2010, 07:32 AM   #3
the Musigician

Tools I use almost daily I prefer to be DeWalt. My cordless circular saw, my compound miter saw, my cordless drill....
I also have other tools that I use much less that are lesser quality, but "good enough" for occasional jobs. Like my drill press, band saw, Rigid planer, etc....

DM
Old 11-30-2010, 07:44 AM   #4
Coconut Pete's paella!