Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-01-2011, 03:38 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

new homeowner, so much to do, AHHH!

hey everybody!

i bought my first small condo here in socal, 3 bdr, 1 bath, 850sqft, 1 story on the 2nd flr. looked nice when i purchased but when i moved in it was a mess!

i have very little to no experience in home remodeling and interior design, not really the fashion, creative type at all

so, my question is, where the heck do i start?!?! to think about furniture, paint, small repairs, remodeling, cleaning, etc.... is sooo daunting!! so, does anybody have any advice? if i'm starting from scratch, where should i start? w/ paint and repairs, then furniture? should i choose colors now, or let it evolve??

i've attached pics of what it looked like before the previous owner moved out and it doesn't look nearly as nice after they left! walls are dirty, doors have griime around the handles, things dont shut properly, etc, etc.
Attached Thumbnails
new homeowner, so much to do, AHHH!-p727787_0.jpg   new homeowner, so much to do, AHHH!-p727787_1_0.jpg   new homeowner, so much to do, AHHH!-p727787_2_0.jpg   new homeowner, so much to do, AHHH!-p727787_3_0.jpg   new homeowner, so much to do, AHHH!-p727787_4_0.jpg  

new homeowner, so much to do, AHHH!-p727787_5_0.jpg  

willklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 04:02 PM   #2

start with the easier jobs like cleaning and painting. a fresh coat of paint will give an immediate boost to the look and feel and cleanliness of the place. plus, you'll feel like you've accomplished something and can then move on to the trickier jobs that will undoubtedly take more time and some trial and error as you learn.

NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NitroNate For This Useful Post:
thomasjmarino (06-01-2011)
Old 06-01-2011, 05:05 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 26