DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   General DIY Discussions (http://www.diychatroom.com/f2/)
-   -   Need honest opinions on this house, please. (http://www.diychatroom.com/f2/need-honest-opinions-house-please-44672/)

Zel1 05-17-2009 10:35 PM

Need honest opinions on this house, please.
 
Hello everyone, I am looking for some honest feedback on the color and style choices used on this house. I will explain why after I get some feedback, because I dont want to influence anyone opinion. Thank you in advance for your feedback!
http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/7158/housedone.jpg

Just Bill 05-18-2009 06:48 AM

Color/style choices are strickly a personal thing. If you like it, then it is right for you. What anyone else thinks should not matter.

gma2rjc 05-18-2009 07:55 AM

It looks fine to me.

Clutchcargo 05-18-2009 09:55 AM

I like the color scheme.
That's a nice tree but it's too close to the house.

majakdragon 05-18-2009 10:05 AM

I can't really tell how close the tree is, but a tree that size is usually good thing and saves on energy bills due to the shade. The color is fine. The siding at the peaks could be a bit darker to bring out an offsetting of materials. I was surprised to find out that the quickest selling house color is yellow. Overall, nice looking house.

RegeSullivan 05-18-2009 11:03 AM

Just my thoughts, please do not be offended... The colors are fine but boring and the accent siding needs to be darker or of more contrast. As far as the style I do not care for the garage in the front. My home is the same way for practical reasons but I find the appearance unbalanced and unappealing. That said it is hard to comment on style because the surrounding housing can have a lot of influence on what looks right. I love big trees but the one in that front yard is way to big for the yard and the house. It would be a great loss but removing that tree and a little landscaping would really add to the appeal of that house.

Rege

Ron6519 05-18-2009 02:03 PM

The siding exposure is too narrow for the tall fascade. I don't like the two colors or the two different , redundant, exposures. If you want to change out the top siding, use something decorative, like scallops to break up the monotony. The tall section with the windows should have a horizontal break above the second floor window. Above that you would make the design transition. Same for the garage fascade.
Ron

Zel1 05-18-2009 05:25 PM

Thanks for the opinions. I'll post a "before" picture below. We recently replaced the windows, roof and siding. Changing the garage layout, window size/location, roof shape, etc were not an option. We had to work with what we had. It seems like every house in the neighborhood is going with one of three shades of tan, so we wanted ours to "pop" a little more. We also didnt want to rip down the stone veneer so our color choices were a little limited. I did all the window/door trim myself, and except for the headers, it was all my design. I really like the overall look of the house now, but my wife doesnt. She doesnt think the colors match at all. Neighbors have stopped to compliment us, but she thinks they are just being nice and laughing behind our backs. lol I just wanted to get some outside opinions to see which one of us is nuts!:laughing:
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/7066/housel.jpg

gma2rjc 05-18-2009 06:05 PM

It's a huge improvement! You did a good job.

DangerMouse 05-18-2009 07:02 PM

1 Attachment(s)
agreed... the window and door arches really perk it up nicely. tell her if she doesn't like it, you'll be happy to repaint....
(see below)

DM

Ron6519 05-18-2009 08:08 PM

This would be, "Big Birds" house.
Ron

gma2rjc 05-18-2009 08:11 PM

That's really purty paint DM. It must be Behr. LOL Can you do something about the color of the tree? :laughing:

tbishop 05-18-2009 08:15 PM

It looks like you have some brickwork on your porch and around your walkway. I would go away from the pastel yellow and move toward some earth tones

Zel1 05-19-2009 07:31 AM

Only problem with that is that just about every house in the neighborhood is now one of three shades of tan. The house right next door is tan.

DangerMouse 05-19-2009 08:09 AM

Big Bird?

hmmmmm..... i was going more for a 'Superman' color scheme..... too much yellow? owell......

DM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.