Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-28-2010, 03:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Need help with porch floor

I have a front porch that has a floor made of treated 2 x 6's. The 2 x 6's are showing their age and some need to be replaced.The porch is 6' x 36'. The 2 x 6's run lengthwise (parallel to the front of the house). I would like to put tongue & groove porch flooring down over the 2 x 6's and run it perpendicular to the 2 x 6's. So, they would be 6' long each. My concern with wood T & G porch flooring is maintenance. I had it on another house and hated it because it needed painted so often. I have seen a few places that sell PVC porch flooring and wondered if anyone here has any input, good or bad, about that. Also, since I am a woodworker, I am thinking of buying some redwood and putting my own T & G in it and using that. Any input on this idea would also be welcomed. I think my concerns about either PVC or redwood is it shrinking and growning with the change of temperature. I live in South Carolina and we can get 100 deg and humid in the summer and as cold as the teens (single digits happen but are rare) in the winter. Also, would redwood splinter? I have considered concrete with a brick border but they have to jack up the roof to remove the 2 x 6's, then weld a tray in, and it sounds really expensive. I think wood would look much nicer and I can do it myself. But I am not sure if this is the right application for redwood and I don't have enough information about PVC. The objective is to seal the floor so I can hose it off without having water go into the crawl space. Maybe another idea is to buy TREX or the like, rip off the radiused side, and put T & G in it? Help.

Last edited by budedm; 11-28-2010 at 03:48 PM.
budedm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 04:18 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000