DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Need Help With a Painted Cedar Room

3K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Ron6519 
#1 ·
Hi and thanks in advance for any help.

I have a large family room that's about 50 years old. The walls are 4" cedar planks with about a 1" gap in between each. The planks have a heavy wood texture, like planed but unsanded planks. At some point, this room was painted with a high-gloss latex paint. As you might guess, it's not a pretty sight.

I have no experience hanging drywall, nor can I afford to pay someone to do it, so I need to figure this project out for myself. I'm wondering if I can use joint compound to fill the 1" gaps, then more joint compound to smooth out the texture of the planks. Then go back and prime and paint the whole thing.

Will this work, or is there a better way to tackle this? Also, any recommendations on products to use would be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
Hi and thanks in advance for any help.

I have a large family room that's about 50 years old. The walls are 4" cedar planks with about a 1" gap in between each. The planks have a heavy wood texture, like planed but unsanded planks. At some point, this room was painted with a high-gloss latex paint. As you might guess, it's not a pretty sight.

I have no experience hanging drywall, nor can I afford to pay someone to do it, so I need to figure this project out for myself. I'm wondering if I can use joint compound to fill the 1" gaps, then more joint compound to smooth out the texture of the planks. Then go back and prime and paint the whole thing.

Will this work, or is there a better way to tackle this? Also, any recommendations on products to use would be greatly appreciated.