Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-19-2010, 12:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Need help to find suitable product!

Hello and good day everyone!

I am an engineering student from Germany.Right now I am working on my final engineering project and I need help from you experience woodworkers.

For this project I need to construct a metering device mounted to a production line. The project's name is called "Dosiervorrichtung fuer Spachtelmasse" in german.This machine is to be used as an automation of a woodworking production line.As I have little to zero knowledge about woodworking,this is a very big disadvantage to me.

In order to determine the working condition and mechanical aspect of the project,I need to know about the principal material that'll be used.Using online dictionary, a direct translation of Spachtelmasse is "Spackle"(Spackling paste), a generic trademark as I now known.I also find 'wood putty','crack filler' or 'wood filler' is in similar usage.The hint of this material that my professor gave is characteristically like this;grain in nature,need to be warm/heated to achieve liquid phase, to be used to fill some small defects/holes on the surface of wood slab.

Using internet, i can only find products which require binder or solvent(which didn't implied by my professor).I've also went to nearest store and can't find any 'Spachtelmasse' or 'Holzkitt' that satisfy that either.Plus, I also found that there is certain limit on working time after the material been prepared before it become hardened.So I would like some advise from forumer regarding my questions below:

1.Is there any product that satisfy what my professor told me?(this is the best solution to my problem)
2.If there isn't any,what would you like to suggest?