Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-02-2011, 11:18 PM   #1

Share |

Need a Barn home forum?? And or suggestions from here? also need plan ideas? software

Im looking for a barn home forum? Any suggestions? I thought I may find some specific ideas there but also want to ask here.

I own 175 acres in Cambridge Idaho and need to start planning a barn home now. ( 30 MONTHS UNTIL I RETIRE) I own the property outright and choose a barn home because of costs. I currently live in Northern Nevada and my current home went from 600k in value to 300K and I am upside down. So the days of taking 200k OUT of it and building on the exPensive side are gone!!

I have a well, brand new septic and electric on this home site, which will sit on a 2 acre pond I have established there.

I am no pro builder but did build a 4200 sq ft shop/ mother in law on my current home, so I have lots of tools, pleanty of ideas and lots of energy.

I feel a barn home on a slab foundation with a heated PEX floor would be the cheapest way to get into a 2,000 or so sq ft home. This entire thing will have to be built out of pocket, in stages by me.

I will have the concrete done by a pro locally and am still mulling over the slab or stem wall floor with floor joists??? what ya think. I do want heated floors and will also be using a wod stove. I have no issues doingh concrete thats we can stain or maybe even stamp.

I am actually going to do the electrical on the outside of the interior walls in conduit as I like the look. I know it sounds odd, but I have seen it in a large 5000 sq ft barn antique store and it was nice. Rustic is the word.