Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 01:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


My dad recently gave me his natural gas grill. My house is all electric, so I would like to covert the grill to run on LP. Can I just go to Home Depot or Lowes and buy a hose and regulator for LP and put it on? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

John

johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:06 PM   #2
A Little Of Everything
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,198
Rewards Points: 1,076
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnl0958 View Post
My dad recently gave me his natural gas grill. My house is all electric, so I would like to covert the grill to run on LP. Can I just go to Home Depot or Lowes and buy a hose and regulator for LP and put it on? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

John
No.

LP Gas runs at a considerably higher PSI, so the orifice will be smaller.


Last edited by DrHicks; 04-26-2011 at 02:10 PM.
DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:09 PM   #3
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


The short answer is yes, first I would look online at the manufacturers web site, many will sell the conversion kit specific to your make and model. The difference is the size of the orfice, it needs to be the correct size for the BTU output of your BBQ, and I know brand "L" does sell the kits for the models they sell at least.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:11 PM   #4
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by DrHicks View Post
No.

LP Gas runs at a considerably higher PSI, so the orifice will be smaller.
LP Gas needs an orfice change due to BTU's/cf not for reasons of pressure.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:16 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by DrHicks View Post
No.

LP Gas runs at a considerably higher PSI, so the orifice will be smaller.
I thought the regulator was to bring down the pressure from the propane tank to the grill. Is it possible to also control the pressure by not opening the valve on the tank all the way?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
The short answer is yes, first I would look online at the manufacturers web site, many will sell the conversion kit specific to your make and model. The difference is the size of the orfice, it needs to be the correct size for the BTU output of your BBQ, and I know brand "L" does sell the kits for the models they sell at least.

Mark
I have asked the manufactuer (Ducane) if they sell a kit, and they said no. Also the grill is like 10-15 yrs old.
How do I know how much BTU I need?
johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:50 PM   #6
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


NO, you cannot regulate pressure using a valve, you MUST use a regulator, the orfice is located down stream of the regulator.

Look at Ducanes web site and see if you can match your up (close to) whats available today, look at the btu rating, also, see if they have replacement burners for your, they are also rated in BTU output.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:31 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
NO, you cannot regulate pressure using a valve, you MUST use a regulator, the orfice is located down stream of the regulator.

Look at Ducanes web site and see if you can match your up (close to) whats available today, look at the btu rating, also, see if they have replacement burners for your, they are also rated in BTU output.

Mark

k, thanks for the help.
johnl0958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:43 PM   #8
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


You could look at these, see if you can match your model number.

http://www.appliancefactoryparts.com...ng-valves.html
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 04:15 PM   #9
A Little Of Everything
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,198
Rewards Points: 1,076
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
LP Gas needs an orfice change due to BTU's/cf not for reasons of pressure.
Yeah, I should have been clearer on that. Thanks for the correction!
DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 07:05 PM   #10
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Rewards Points: 500
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


From what I am seeing, the conversion kits run about $50. Does that sound right? My grill gave out and I bought a Weber charcoal grill for now. I would like to look around for a good buy on a Weber NG grill, but I want the ability to switch to propane without spending gobs and gobs.
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 12:20 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,525
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


WirelessG,

When looking for your new NG Weber grill just make sure that it comes with the LP kit. It should just consist of orifices, if I'm not mistaken.
VIPlumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 12:38 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,646
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


this place had ducane orifice listed. said they would drill it to size


http://www.clagrills.com/allgrillpar...all-valves.htm
DannyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 07:18 AM   #13
DIY Hack
 
Mr Chips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,302
Rewards Points: 500
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


I had a grill at my old house ( Charbroil I think it was) and all i had to do to convert it to NG was remove the orifice altogether. Before you buy a new grill, take a look at the online manual to see if what's involved to change it over
__________________
Those who can, do...
Those who can't criticize on the internet
Mr Chips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 08:44 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


You should be able to remove the orifice and take it to a grill parts place for a replacement to the gas you're planning to use. If you can't find it, you can drill out the orifice to the diameter needed.
I think this was discussed in the past on this forum with the drill bit diameter needed.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2011, 09:56 AM   #15
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,173
Rewards Points: 2,256
Default

natural gas to LP conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
You should be able to remove the orifice and take it to a grill parts place for a replacement to the gas you're planning to use. If you can't find it, you can drill out the orifice to the diameter needed.
I think this was discussed in the past on this forum with the drill bit diameter needed.
I used silver solder to close up the natural gas orifices and then drilled them out to the correct LP BTU rating. Here is sizing chart:

http://www.grillparts.com/howto/btu_guide.htm

A full service propane dealer can do this if you are not comfortable with it. You will also need a regulator and hose.

For information, the reason you need different (smaller) orifices is that propane even after regulation is a higher pressure than natural gas.

Propane (LP) is 11" WC (11 inches water column) , about 1/2 PSI

Natural gas runs at about 5-7" WC , about 1/4 PSI (I have rounded off all numbers).

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
natural gas to propane conversion Brian U Appliances 1 09-28-2009 12:36 PM
Flexible Natural Gas pipe/Line andy5111 Plumbing 10 09-25-2009 11:41 PM
Painting natural wood windows lauries Interior Decorating 5 04-02-2009 08:07 PM
Propane to Natural conversion higgsfamily5 Appliances 5 11-06-2008 10:51 PM
Natural Gas to L.P conversion on stove. RobertS Appliances 4 03-10-2008 01:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.