Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-31-2009, 11:33 AM   #1

Share |

My Hardwood Floor Refinishing project

You can see photos I've uploaded here: http://www.diychatroom.com/members/r...shing-project/

I have been renovating my 1957 home for the past 6 years and this fall took on refinishing an oak floor. It was in good shape (not gouges, humps, etc), but the finish was shot! I was quite fearful of this project because of the sanding part of it. Six yrs ago I rented a floor belt sander to do another floor and it about killed me. My buddy helped me but it was really brutal on his body too. (and I haven't even mentioned the ungodly amount of dust it kicked up)!

Since my floors were in decent shape I originally thought I'd hand sand. I had a hand belt sander and a random orbital sander. I did not like the results I got with the hand belt sander so dropped that real quick and just used the orbital. I got 3/4 done and spent next 2 days trying to move again. The first go round really only scuffed the finish so it was non-effective.

I came across a website when I was googling - trying to find information (this was before I came across this forum which I'm lovin'). Take a lookie at it. www.hammerzone.com After seeing this and getting this information I was confident that I could handle using the floor orbital sander that Lowe's rents for $40/24 hours.