Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 08:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Glenside, PA
Posts: 82
Share |
Default

Moldy Lath Strip Bundles


I'm doing a bathroom remodel job. I installed a 5 ft. tub in an alcove, and needed to pack out the studs so that my cement board would overlap the flange on the tub. I usually use wood lath strips. However, this time around, EVERYWHERE I went to buy these, they were moldy. Home Depot, Lowes, and my local lumber yard all sold a bundle of 50 four-foot lath strips for around $12.50, but each store's entire stock was moldy! The lath strips weren't wet, but they had black spots all over them, and if you looked real closely, you could see tiny little black sprouts that you could wipe away with your finger. After wiping them away, the wood was still stained black. See attached pic. Any idea why this is so?

Anyway, I ended up just ripping down a few 2x4s with my table saw because I didn't feel comfortable introducing mold into somebody else's house (even though another contractor at the lumber yard said to just install the moldy ones and not to worry about it).

I'm assuming I did the right thing by not installing the moldy lath strips. What do you think? What would you have done?
Attached Thumbnails
Moldy Lath Strip Bundles-moldy-lath-strips.jpg  

Chris Sweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,758
Default

Moldy Lath Strip Bundles


Asked to talk to the manager and suggested he cut them up and toss them.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:24 AM   #3
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,833
Default

Moldy Lath Strip Bundles


That is poor materials management or manufacturing. Since they are a low buck, low profit item, they might never have been properly dried from the start. Or they were allowed to get wet during transit. I think you handled it right. Most likely, they'd have never been an issue since they'd be concealed, but if the customer had seen you putting some moldy materials into the job, what would they think? You have to protect your reputation. Secondly, if the customer has an indoor air quality problem down the road, they'll have to look elsewhere for a source. Again protecting yourself from a problem.
Maintenance 6 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Hows and Whys of Furring Strips. Part-1 Willie T How To Guides 12 03-01-2013 02:58 PM
Power strip hack salex Electrical 3 01-31-2012 06:10 AM
Bad or failed heat strip. Any ideas why. 50juan HVAC 25 12-04-2011 04:04 PM
Goodman GPH1336H21AA heat strip connection jrajra HVAC 2 09-02-2010 04:52 PM
mildew on wood lath L Gallagher General DIY Discussions 7 12-20-2009 11:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.