Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Florida
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Mold in Attic?


I'm having concerns i may have mold in my attic. What maybe the cause of the problem is that I installed wooden soffits around my 1940s home and it may not be vented properly. I used the 4 inch round soffit vents I bought from Home Depot and I installed each one along where the screen vents were going into the attic. When I had my roof replaced ten years ago I had ridge vents put in and I notice I get a lot of outside debris in my attic. I'm really concerned to the point that I'm going to take down the soffits I put in.

I"m not completely sure its mold but it has increased over the last several months. I'm getting a black powdery substance along the roof rafters and today I noticed a few areas that have a white powdery substance.

Also my bathroom vent is vented through the roof....Please help.

Uncle Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 05:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,383
Rewards Points: 96
Default

Mold in Attic?


Got some pictures?
Sure the vents are not blocked up with insulation?
Would have been a whole lot better to have used larger vent in the soffit.
Hit that black stuff with some bleach and see what happens.

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 06:39 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Dave View Post
I installed wooden soffits around my 1940s home and it may not be vented properly.
Few houses have enough attic ventilation.
Attached Thumbnails
Mold in Attic?-ridge-eave2.jpg  
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:28 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Florida
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


Uncle Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:32 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Florida
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


I was able to take some pictures. To me it looks like mold and Im getting really concerned about it. I was hoping if I remove the soffits I put up it would resolve the problem?

I did spray a couple of areas with water/bleach and didnt really notice a change.
Uncle Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:36 PM   #6
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,332
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Mold in Attic?


go to dollar store and buy some tilex mold and mildew remover. You will find it in the clean your bathroom section of store. Spray it on. If its mold it will disappear in 15 minutes. Its around 3 dollars for a spray bottle of it.
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:52 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: montana
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


Is there enough insulation? Excessive her loss and insufficient venting are the two biggest causes of moldy attics. Usually combination of both.
gogetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:19 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: North Florida
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gogetter View Post
Is there enough insulation? Excessive her loss and insufficient venting are the two biggest causes of moldy attics. Usually combination of both.
I do need insulation...bad. You can probably tell by the pictures. I put the soffits in myself about 3 months ago and not long after that's when the problem started.

I took some of the soffits down today hoping it will slow down the process.
I will remove the others on Monday.
Uncle Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:22 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific North west
Posts: 1,248
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Mold in Attic?


first off you live in Florida humid conditions closing off the ventilation to the attic is what is causing this. you choked the air flow down and You need R 49 for your attic. when you put it in make sure not block or restrict the air flow for your attic.
Nailbags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:25 AM   #10
greetings from Bolivia
 
harrymontana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to harrymontana
Default

Mold in Attic?


just use chlore (the stuff you clean your toilet with) and the mold dies and fades away.
For the moisture, it has to come from somewhere,
either some drainage problem and/ or lack of ventilation.
The mold is just a sympthom, you need to get into the moisture issue, why there is moisture
harrymontana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 02:13 PM   #11
Mold!! Let's kill it!
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,843
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


Yep. Looks like typical mold that will form on rafters in an undervented attic. Now that you have it, correcting the ventilation issue will cause it to go dormant, but not kill it. If you are really concerned about it, the only way to get rid of it now, is to scrub it off. Some detergent solution in a spray bottle and a scrub brush, then wipe up everything. Don't just scrub it off and let it drip down into your insulation. Dead mold carcasses can be as allergenic as live ones. After you clean it all, then spray it with a fungicide if you feel the need.
Maintenance 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 09:27 AM   #12
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,251
Rewards Points: 82
Default

Mold in Attic?


+1 to the other feedback.

Seal up the top plates, clean the mold, and blow in R-50.

Make sure the soffits are unobstructed and you don't blow them covered.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:08 AM   #13
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Dave View Post
I do need insulation...bad. You can probably tell by the pictures. I put the soffits in myself about 3 months ago and not long after that's when the problem started.

I took some of the soffits down today hoping it will slow down the process.
I will remove the others on Monday.
You probably just need more soffit vents. See if you can find out the Net Free Vent Area of your brand of ridge vent, and then install at least that amount of net area in soffit vents. Should be no problems then.

Don't forget baffles to keep insulation from clogging the vents!
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 12:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


why did you close off the soffit's in the first place? second if it is the problem then take the soffits off. problem soloved.
RTC_wa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 03:08 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Mold in Attic?


4" screened/louvered round vents have a NFVA of 4", you need two and one-quarter (2-1/4) for each foot of soffit (for 1/150)... could be the problem.

https://ventmastersstore.com/shop/4-...ill-p-123.html

Gary

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold problem after unfinished house was closed in for the winter... lemonbltz Building & Construction 28 12-30-2011 07:52 PM
Mold found - unsure what to do?? izzyant88 General DIY Discussions 12 06-17-2011 06:21 AM
Attic mold? venting into attic? therompster HVAC 4 06-03-2011 06:18 PM
Attic Mold Rhizando General DIY Discussions 20 03-19-2011 08:07 PM
Attic Mold - Correct Ventilatoin michelle239 Roofing/Siding 3 03-02-2011 04:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.