Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-13-2010, 03:20 PM   #1

Share |

Looking for help or ideas with a "two way mirror" type thing for my windows and doors

I live in a rural area and get a lot of wildlife in my backyard or just outside my house; I'm a photographer so I often stand behind one of the glass doors or one of the windows and photograph them through that from inside the house. There's always been a problem with this, though; any type of movement on my part inside the house that is detected by the animal outside in the yard will spook it and it will run away.

So I was wondering what I could do to make it so that I can see the backyard outside clearly from inside the house but anything outside the house looking in won't be able to see me behind the glass. So far I've found two solutions, but neither is perfect...the first is just a very dark sheet of film that sticks to the window so that the window is tinted enough to block the internal view from outside. This would be fine if it weren't for the fact that I want to photograph these animals and shooting through a dark tinted window will affect the pictures in that they also would come out dark and tinted. The second is a two way mirror. The problem with this is that the animals outside would see their own reflection and would be spooked by that...this would mostly be a problem with the birds that come to the window feeders.

So what else can I do? Any ideas or suggestions would be much appreciated

Last edited by snowfall; 07-13-2010 at 03:23 PM.
snowfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 03:47 PM   #2
the Musigician

Looking for help or ideas with a "two way mirror" type thing for my windows and doors

cut a lens sized hole in the film?

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote