Lighting Circuit - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 06:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Lighting Circuit


Hey everyone,

I would like to ask for some advice. I am putting in a new lighting circuit into a dining room extension, which the client wants to be 2 way. There is an exsisting light in the dining room which is currently one way, but they also want this to be 2 way.
The switch line for the exsisting light is at a switch in the dining room. The switch line for the new light is at a switch on the opposite side of the room in the extension. I have run a 3 core and earth between the 2 switches but am unsure how to wire the switches so both lights are 2 way. Thanks for any help.



P.s I am installing a new light on a new circuit and I want the original switch to be made a 2 way switch. I also want the old light and new light to be both operated 2 way.

Thanks

Advertisement

rcdltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 08:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Lighting Circuit


Your post indicates 2 things,
1. You are not an electrician.
2 You are not qualified to charge people money for this.
You don't know enough to even use the correct terminology.
Tell the client, you're sorry, but that you cannot do this job because you do no have the required skill set. And rather then cause his house to burn down or someone get electrocuted, he should hire someone qualified to work on the electric.

Advertisement

__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (09-27-2011)
Old 09-27-2011, 08:59 AM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,233
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

Lighting Circuit


Don't be too tough on the poster. Based on the terms he uses, he is not in the US or Canada. Although I agree it does not sound like he has electrical experience. Sounds like what he is calling 2 way, we would call 3 way (although frankly 2 way is a better description).
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 12:09 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,364
Rewards Points: 3,522
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Lighting Circuit


I think what you want is the two light(new and existing) to be operated at the same time by two switches.
You can't do it the way you have the cables currently run. You need to feed both fixtures from the same switch. So you have two choices. Run the cable for your new fixture to the existing fixture. Or if the power comes into the first switch you can run the cable for the new fixture to the existing switch. The three core cable is fine between the switches.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement lighting circuit - multiple lights and switches, end of circuit cmyk Electrical 2 03-03-2011 03:39 PM
Help With Basement Lighting Circuit JDC4NU Electrical 6 03-01-2011 09:53 AM
Kitchen Lighting Circuit sirsparksalot Electrical 1 02-16-2011 07:08 PM
lighting circuit design question amakarevic Electrical 15 10-31-2008 03:11 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts