Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-15-2008, 04:12 PM   #1

Share |

installing wood blocking

Hi all,

I'm renovating my NYC apartment myself. It has steel studs for framing. I plan to install new cabinets and appliances. I've been searching the web for ideas on hanging cabinets on steel studs and everyone recommends using wood blocking between the studs. My question is: what is wood blocking and how do I install it? These are probably simple questions with simple answers, but I'm a newbie. Also, I'm hanging an over-the-range microwave. The installation guide requires a wood stud. Is there a way to install a wood stud within a steel stud frame?

Thanks in advance!

sonnycrockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:24 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

installing wood blocking

If you are asking questions, and in NYC, you are better off letting a GC come in and do the work, then risk having the City Code dept. tell you that you screwed up. As for your question, Wood Blocking is exactly that, blocks of wood placed between the studs, or 3/4" plywood for attaching cabinets & such to the wall.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:29 PM   #3

installing wood blocking

I already investigated the matter and there isn't any need for a permit... thanks anyway.

What is the wood blocking attached to... the steel studs? If yes, how so?
sonnycrockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:36 PM   #4
Retired from the grind

installing wood blocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnycrockett View Post
I already investigated the matter and there isn't any need for a permit... thanks anyway.

What is the wood blocking attached to... the steel studs? If yes, how so?
Already answered, but at this point, get a Contractor, due to stating that you do not need a permit, when doing remodeling, is a false sense of trust.