Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2011, 02:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 33
Share |
Default

Ideas to enclose wires in garage?


I'm getting ready to have the garage re-stuccoed in a week or two. So, Im trying to clean up a few areas before that. This wiring situation needs a major cleanup, and I'm looking for suggestions on how I should do it. My first thought was to try and find a cabinet with a door and open back that would fit over this area. But, I'm either looking in the wrong places, or it doesn't exist. because I cant seem to find anyting.


The wires in the open area consist mostly of telephone wire, coax for cable tv and camera.

the two units outside of the wall opening are for the irrigation, and modem for thecomcast tv/phone/internet. i'm thinking of putting those two units above the opening in the wall with the wires, and trying to enclose those along with the wall opening.


the dimensions of the opening for the wires is 32"x15". If I were to put the irrigation controller & modem above the opening, I would probably extend the height of the enclosure another 2 feet.


Anyone have ideas on how I should go about this?




thanks


Last edited by bokeh; 10-09-2011 at 02:15 PM.
bokeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 05:29 PM   #2
Too Old
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South of North
Posts: 345
Default

Ideas to enclose wires in garage?


Take a look at these they may be what you need.

http://www.bnproducts.com/boxes/semi...rior/index.php

I have used these types for years. I use the BN1100w on the exterior (nice to have the sprinkler timer on the exterior for access along with cable main line, phone line, landscape lights ect.)
On the interior I usually use BN14324wlv-idw to hold all the security and data lines.

__________________
"Yeah, it's a nice garage, but you have to keep it heated at all times so it doesn't mess up your roof line."
havalife is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to havalife For This Useful Post:
bokeh (10-10-2011)
Old 10-09-2011, 11:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 1,845
Default

Ideas to enclose wires in garage?


I'd sure get a cabinet and cut out the back. You can then get inside it and organize the wires, fastening boxes to the cabinet and running the cables under insulated staples (don't mash the staples in tight) or through plastic pipe hangers.
jklingel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 02:58 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 33
Default

Ideas to enclose wires in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by havalife View Post
Take a look at these they may be what you need.

http://www.bnproducts.com/boxes/semi...rior/index.php
...
This is exactly what I need. Thank You.




jklingel, thanks. I was thinking I might have to do something similar to what you were saying. buying a cabinet and hiding the opening in the back of it, I seen a black&decker cabnet at lowes today that I was considering. But Havalifes suggestion/link would work ideally.


Now I'm just wondering if I should mess with any of that wring and re-organize it, or just enclose it and call the job complete.

Last edited by bokeh; 10-10-2011 at 03:04 AM.
bokeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 09:20 AM   #5
Too Old
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South of North
Posts: 345
Default

Ideas to enclose wires in garage?


I would set the box around 3' off the ground to the bottom of the box, add an outlet inside the box, then run all the wires inside the wall and mount them to the box so it is somewhat organized. It looks like you can get 95% of the wires and boxes inside the cabinet.
__________________
"Yeah, it's a nice garage, but you have to keep it heated at all times so it doesn't mess up your roof line."
havalife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enclosure, garage, how to, wires


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unconditioned garage reillyoevans HVAC 3 08-20-2011 06:29 PM
Do I have a Fire Rating Issues with Attached Garage Perry401 Building & Construction 4 04-25-2011 11:58 PM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM
Garage drainage ideas.. Volkstech Building & Construction 5 08-14-2009 05:04 PM
Conduit through garage to house. Max wires? RyanD Electrical 12 08-02-2009 05:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.