How Would You Repair This Rotted Door Jamb. (pic Inside) - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-13-2009, 01:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

How would you repair this rotted door jamb. (pic inside)

Hi everyone,

Can I just amputate the bottom section of this exterior door jamb and match it and patch it? If so, what tools would work best? I have a 6" circular saw, sawzall, chisel, and flush cutter. These are the tools that I would opt for first, but I am no expert, but I am slightly handy.

I am worried that swapping out just damaged portion might compromise the structural integrity.

This is on a property I own, but rent out. It is in a condo association, so I need to do it quickly.

If I hired someone to fix it, what should i expect to pay?
I am in Edison, NJ
Attached Thumbnails
How would you repair this rotted door jamb. (pic inside)-img_5786-rotted-door-jamb.jpg  

Advertisement

landgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 01:39 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

You might be able to use an epoxy material if you can stabilize the rotted out section above the hole.
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 02:05 PM   #3

That's pretty bad
I'd cut the whole thing out & pout new wood in
You'd need to call someone & have them give you an estimate
Costs differ widely by area
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 02:12 PM   #4

Thanks for the response Ron.

I should also mention that the metal threshold has some play, so the wood supporting that might be affected too.

To patch with epoxy wouldn't acheive the aesthetic standards required by the association.

What is the right way to do this job, without overkill?
Old 06-13-2009, 02:16 PM   #5

Cut the area out
Install a new 2x in the cavity
Install new pieces of trim