Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2007, 01:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 793
Share |
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


Well, I was at home depot and bought a cool satin nickel doorbell ringer to match all my satin hardware on my new front door.

I go to install it, and realize that it's an electronic doorbell ringer, and mine's this 100% manual, no electric model.




I cannot find anywhere to replace this. All I can think of is either deal with it how it is (which is ugly, and sooo quiet that you cannot even hear it if you're not already in that room), or do a complete rip out - which'd be quite the project since the thing goes through the framing from interior to exterior, so that'd be one heck of a project for a diy'er like me just for my doorbell it seems!!!


(oh and in the pic, the exposed 'ringer' parts inside usually have a box type cover over them, I have it off for now til I decide what I'm doing here!)




Any comments or tips would be greatly appreciated, I guess I'm hoping that I don't need to choose the lesser of two evils - complete rip out of that and completely refinish/wire for an electric model, or just deal with the ugly/impractical old one that's currently there!
Attached Thumbnails
how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup-inside-old-school-doorbell.jpg   how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup-outside-oldschool-doorbell.jpg  

joeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 01:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 793
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


wow I didn't realize til I checked my post how bad the flash reacted to the outdoor light in the first picture I posted - if a clearer one would help feel free to ask! It's basically just a manual button on the outside that swings a metal arm, which is between two larger metal plates for the noise. The unit is completely through the door framing, not just a thin spot connecting them or anything like that!

joeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 02:35 PM   #3
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


Thats an Auntie Que!

Its either string new wire for a new one where you'll need to find a 110 hard wire for a transfromer, then low voltage wire to the chime and button..

Oooooorrrrr take that one back and get a snappy wireless doorbell thats battery operated at least on the button side.

I have a customer that uses them all the time and they really seem to work pretty good. Would be a lot easer than pulling wire...
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 03:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


I've got a wireless doorbell. I LOVE it. And you can add extra buttons wherever you need and set them to invoke either front door or bakdoor chime.
scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 03:36 PM   #5
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


Just got back from a Homey run.

Less than 30 bucks... Thats alot easier than pulling wires!
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 08:58 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 793
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


oh yeah I've seen those! The only reason I didn't go with them is because if I remove this whole beast I'm gonna be stuck with a hole through my front door's frame... Maybe I'll grab an electronic/battery one, and just kind of leave the old one in place, but remove its button on the outside and put the new one there, leaving the old one's guts through the door frame!
joeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 10:30 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 331
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


Joeyboy, if you Google a few of the renovator's supply houses, I'm sure you'll find a replica of that very same doorbell unit. If it's reasonably priced, it might be that much more of a charm factor for your house.
End Grain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2007, 12:53 PM   #8
Sr. Development Engineer
 
DrDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Escondido, Ca
Posts: 36
Default

how to replace, or maybe swap, this odd doorbell setup


Your picture is too close to see the big picture. Can you post another from further away? Possible solutions require more information.

DrDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lots of damaged drywall - repair or replace? jdelisle Remodeling 25 04-04-2011 06:37 AM
Different color wires on new doorbell transformer.... ConstantChange Electrical 31 11-21-2007 11:08 PM
Tried replacing doorbell....now it doesn't work. ConstantChange Electrical 9 11-18-2007 10:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.