Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-25-2009, 06:33 PM   #1

Share |

how do i know if my subfloor is good enough to

put in a wood floor on top of it. I'm really not sure if its OSB or pressboard/particle board or not. I don't want to nail in a whole floor if its not the right subfloor. Please help, the materials are on their way and i don't know if the have a good enough foundation. Any ideas, know how, would be appreciated! Help!

brenda o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 10:45 PM   #2
Advice worth 2 cents!

Hello Brenda!

...I'm NOT an expert but have a bit of experience in what your trying to do.

Your on the right track and your question is a perfect start for getting the job done right.

What kind of floor joist do you have? 2 x 10's? wood? engineered joists?

What is the spacing of the joists? 16" 19"???

How many layers of subfloor?

Particle or OSB? Hmm..Plywood? ( particle board is pressed sawdust and is a very fine grain and is hard to the touch, Particle board is made from wood chips of about 3/4". You can see all the chips. Plywood is from wood venneer and looks like a tree all rolled out..)

What exacly do you want to put on top? hardwood strips? laminated hardwood? parquet?...

What's on the floor now?

What condition is all this in? age?

And last but not least, can you supply a picture?

__pete

Old 09-26-2009, 03:28 AM   #3