Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2013, 11:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 31
Share |
Default

How do I fix this?


The electrical outlet is falling off the wall. How do I fix this?
Attached Thumbnails
How do I fix this?-electrical-outlet.jpg  

Fly_on_the_wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 01:03 AM   #2
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,330
Default

How do I fix this?


I'm thinking install new box with a oscar(aka battleship) to hold it.

747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 05:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

How do I fix this?


Is there even a box behind it?????? I would be suspicious of all the other work done in that house. If you are unsure about how to fix this, then maybe it is time to call in an electrician. You may want him to look at the rest of the electric as well.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
del schisler (12-02-2013)
Old 12-02-2013, 06:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,449
Default

How do I fix this?


Looks like you can see the edge of the box, but I don't see the tabs for the screws. Anyway change the box, that looks like the old box that was nailed to a stud. Run a hacksaw blade up the outside of the box cutting the nails off then get a old work box (just the name not used) and install. Of course turning the power off.
ToolSeeker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 06:51 AM   #5
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,393
Default

How do I fix this?


The neutral wire is around the screw the wrong way so it looks like that outlet may have been changed by a novice. Some of those plastic boxes have very little strength in the screw holes and running them in with a power driver too tight will destroy them. You may be able to get it back together by putting toothpicks in the holes then screwing the outlet back down.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 07:00 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,341
Default

How do I fix this?


Try another picture so we can see if there's even tabs on the box where the screws should holding the outlet in place.
It should look like this.
http://www.hardwarestore.com/handy-box-238329.aspx

Going to have to cut out that loose paper, Prime with Gardz then fill that area with joint compound. Use thin layers and build it up or it's going to crack unless you use hot mud for the first coat.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 06:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 31
Default

How do I fix this?


Here's a different angle showing the box.
Attached Thumbnails
How do I fix this?-different-angle.jpg  
Fly_on_the_wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 06:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 31
Default

How do I fix this?


The box is kind of pushed back.
Fly_on_the_wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 07:29 PM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,240
Default

How do I fix this?


That sure is a small box

I'm thinking it's Sawzall time.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 07:35 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

How do I fix this?


Clean up the hole and instal a box extender to bring it out to the face of the wall.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
ToolSeeker (12-03-2013)
Old 12-02-2013, 08:13 PM   #11
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,240
Default

How do I fix this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Clean up the hole and instal a box extender to bring it out to the face of the wall.
Sawzall would be more fun......but....a box extender would be better
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 08:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 31
Default

How do I fix this?


Ok. So are these the correct steps?

1. Clean up the hole and install a box extender to bring it out to the face of the wall.

2. Place the neutral wire around the screw in the right direction.

3. Cut out that loose paper, prime with Gardz then fill that area with joint compound. Use thin layers and build it up or it's going to crack unless you use hot mud for the first coat.


I just want to make sure.
Fly_on_the_wall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:12 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: outside ocala fl
Posts: 3,449
Default

How do I fix this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fly_on_the_wall View Post
Ok. So are these the correct steps?

1. Clean up the hole and install a box extender to bring it out to the face of the wall.

2. Place the neutral wire around the screw in the right direction.

3. Cut out that loose paper, prime with Gardz then fill that area with joint compound. Use thin layers and build it up or it's going to crack unless you use hot mud for the first coat.


I just want to make sure.
Sounds like a plan.
ToolSeeker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:35 PM   #14
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,330
Default

How do I fix this?


Yes and the lastest pic shows a real mess. Clean it up and box extender

747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.