How Do I Adjust The Gas Flow To The Pilot Light On My Furnace? - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2009, 09:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

How do I adjust the gas flow to the pilot light on my furnace?


We had a service tech replace the pilot light housing on our Bryant furnace. The pilot light went from a small fingertip flame that barely touched the thermocouple to a blow torch the 1.5" x 1.5" square.

The tech said the flame didn't need adjusting, but it seems like an awful waste of gas. He'd also mentioned that there was a screw underneath another screw that would adjust the flame. I don't recall which screw he was referring to.

Is this a 'diy' project, or do I have to pay to have this guy come back?

Advertisement

4nxchg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 12:17 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Arkansas
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

How do I adjust the gas flow to the pilot light on my furnace?


There is probably a phillips head screw on top of the main valve and its probably the only one thats not in a corner. If you remove it there will be a very small adjuster screw some distance down the hole underneath it. You will need a jewelers screwdriver or other small straight blade screwdriver. Likely won't be able to see it but will just have to insert the screwdriver blade and feel for when it catches the slot. Clockwise to lower the flame IIRC. To be on the safe side, remove the top screw slowly and make sure you don't have any gas escaping. If so it's not the right screw

Advertisement

Mike in Arkansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 01:58 PM   #3
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 349
Rewards Points: 268
Default

How do I adjust the gas flow to the pilot light on my furnace?


I don't have a gas furnace, but I do have a gas hot water heater. A 1.5" flame is not a pilot light! I'd call the company that did the service back and have them send someone else. If it's under contract why mess w/it yourself.
WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 08:53 AM
10 year old Carrier mid furnace with standing pilot BryanGregoire HVAC 3 10-01-2009 07:16 PM
no pilot light adrenalic HVAC 12 12-19-2008 01:57 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts