DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

How to diagnose problems with wall

5K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  kahlan 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm a total newb to this - so would appreciate any simple advice.
I live in a house which is about 150 yrs old and is on the short end of an L shape. This means that I share a party wall with two properties, since the depth of my house is equal to the width of two on the long part of the L.

The house adjacent to the front part of mine has recently undergone extensive renovations, including demolition of the chimney on the party wall and replacement of the roof.
I don't know what else was done, but the banging on the party wall was constant for several months. (the owners never lived there so I couldnt ask - they did it up and it is now rented out).

Subsequent to this several cracks appeared in our house, running vertically from ceiling to floor, adjacent to the party wall and also down the corners of walls opposite the party wall. (across the landing so only about 5ft away). There is also a crack downstairs running down the corner adjacent to the party wall though not as big as those upstairs.

I contacted our local building regs to ask about this as I thought I should have had some notification about work on the party wall. He said if they had removed the whole chimney there was no problem and it would just be settlement and was pretty dismissive about it all.

I have been watching and waiting and don't think the cracks are worsening but not sure yet.