Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-18-2013, 10:37 AM   #1

Share |

Home Improvement Contractor Working Alone - Should I Get A Job?

I'm a home improvement contractor working alone; just a sole proprietor with no employees or help of any kind. I really love what I do. I do all sorts of work, including all general home repairs, bathroom remodels, kitchen remodels, etc. I like the money I make, and I love the work I do. I take great pride in my work and make sure to do things the way they are supposed to be done. However, I probably only actually work half of the days of the year. In a way, it's kind of nice because it gives me time to get things done around my house. But at the same time, I would love to keep busy working as much possible and maximize my income. I'm debating getting a full-time job working for someone else for this reason. No, I do not want to work for someone who does what I am currently doing (otherwise I'd just stay working for myself). I'm thinking of working for a big construction outfit, or the government, or even like habitat for humanity (paid employee) or something. Any ideas?

Has anyone here been in this situation? What did you do and how did it work out?

Also, what sorts of jobs could I get utilizing my skills? Where should I look? Thanks!

Chris Sweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

Hummm..."a home improvement contractor". We don't have any classification like that for contractors in Florida, so I really couldn't say how you should proceed.

Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:49 AM   #3
MarginallyQualified

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris
But at the same time, I would love to keep busy working as much possible and maximize my income.