Grout For Small Glass Tiles - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-21-2010, 11:10 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

grout for small glass tiles

Hi All:
Any suggestions for getting a 'good' grout job on small glass decorative tile? I've attached a picture. There will be another row (of three) of the small blue & white tiles below the bottom row of 6x6 white tile (near the bottom). So I'll have to grout all six rows of that little stuff.

I'm under no time constraints, so I'd rather have a nice, clean look even if it takes longer to get it done. Oh, and of course, I'm a total newbie to tile work. Go figure ...

Thanks in advance.

Kim
Attached Thumbnails
grout for small glass tiles-img_1359.jpg  

Advertisement

kbunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 06:49 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Glass tiles get grouted the same as any other tile, so not sure why you are asking. From the pic, non sanded grout. The purpose of grout is to lock the tiles together and waterproof.

Advertisement

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 06:57 AM   #3
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 3,272

Jim's Downstairs Bathroom Project - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom - DIY Home Improvement Forum

There is a post on grouting a similar tile installation here--Mike--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 07:13 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 500
Thumbs up

I read after the fact that there is some type of "prep" release you can coat the tiles with first which helps to clean off and clean up the excess grout...a handy idea on the small profiles. Hope that helps.
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 07:46 AM   #5

Rewards Points: 2,000