Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-02-2011, 10:38 AM   #1

Share |

Got my first saw...now what

A little background....I want to start getting into woodworking...or at least start building some things. Some future projects that I want to tackle are shelves, poker table, and possibly an arcade cabine for MAME. I have zero experience but I catch on pretty quickly.

I want to start off with small minor projects to help familiarize myself with the power tools that I will be using. Perhaps a cutting board/butchers block, cat house, washer (ring) toss boxes, etc.

I picked up a circular saw the other day as from the research that I have done, it seems to be one of the more versatile power saws out there. I have the other basics, hammers, screwdrivers, drills, etc.

Questions

1) Any good websites or plans where I can attempt to build something designed for begginers?

2) Which tools would you reccommend I should pick up next? Right now I am looking at either a jig saw, sawzall, router, or palmsander.

3) Anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks all

elementz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 10:59 AM   #2