Genie Garage Door Opener - General DIY Discussions - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2014, 03:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


Light on power unit worked fine for years - - - shutting off after a certain time.
Then it would stay on past normal shut-off but could be turned off at wall console.
Then wall console wouldn't work and it couldn't be turned off at all.
Bulbs have been removed and I'm in the dark.
Is this a wall console issue?
A power unit issue?
Or something else?
Thanks for any help.

Advertisement

dim1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 09:05 PM   #2
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


Dim,
What model Genie do you have and how old is it? There is a date code on the serial tag on the back go the opener. Last two digits are the year of manufacture. Sounds like a circuit board problem.
Mike Hawkins

Advertisement

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 07:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


It's a GXL9550 - - - installed in 1995.
According to paperwork, motor has warranty for as long as I own the house.
My guess is that probably doesn't cover the board if that turns out to be e problem?
Right?
dim1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 09:56 PM   #4
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


I doubt they would cover the board, but you could email them and ask, all they can say is no. The opener is going on 19 years old, I wouldn't put any money into it. Keep using as long as it works. I have five doors with five openers. 4 out of the five operate fine, the lone genie promax 500 does what yours does, no lights. But it goes up and down fine.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


Thanks for the feedback, Mike.
Everything you said makes sense and I totally agree. I had sent an email to Genie but no reply yet. I think my next step will be a phone call to their 800 #.
I won't be putting any $$ into this one, but since it's still good mechanically, I may move it to the door at the 3rd stall in the garage - - - no need for lights there.
Thanks again.
dim1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:18 PM   #6
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


Good idea. I do the same thing. One of my doors is. 16' x 8' that's now inside after an addition. I always put an old opener I took off a job that still worked. First was an older liftmaster chain drive that was over 15 years old. Worked for over fifteen more. Replaced it with basically the same unit only three years old. Lady didn't like the noise it made.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:37 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


Thanks for the "endorsement".
It sounds like you've got a lot more experience at this stuff than I do.
dim1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:52 PM   #8
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


I install garage doors and openers as a business, along with remodeling.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 08:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Genie Garage Door Opener


I finally got a reply from Genie. They described a series of tests to check the wall console, then the wiring to the power unit, then the circuit board.
Seemed to be fairly helpful - - - "do this and let us know what happens".
As to your last entry, I had a feeling you knew something about this stuff.
Thank you.

Advertisement

dim1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dim1946 For This Useful Post:
firehawkmph (01-16-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subfeed to New House from Existing Garage??? scuba.man Electrical 2 06-21-2012 08:54 AM
Wiring Garage Sconces paredown Electrical 1 03-28-2012 04:08 PM
Garage floor Tomperro Flooring 6 07-18-2011 01:30 AM
Pouring Concrete Slab in a small rickety garage. RORO Building & Construction 0 10-19-2010 04:56 PM
Old Genie Garage Door Opener cmgith General DIY Discussions 3 11-27-2006 09:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts