Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2009, 02:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace question


Hi all,

I have a propane gas furnace in my garage, Wait Model NW50S. The pilot light works and usually after 2-4 mins I switch over to start the burner everything works. In this case today when I switch over the pilot goes out and nothing else happens.

I have the blower plugged in to a live source and I have a full tank of gas.

Any ideas?

dpudsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 06:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Gas furnace question


Is the pilot flame on the thermocouple end?? If yes, probably a bad thermocouple. The thermocouple is a safety device that prevents the gas valve from opening if there is no pilot.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace question cuts off until I hit the reset switch bmvrdv HVAC 7 12-09-2008 09:54 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Question Re: New Furnace and Duct Sizing DSimo HVAC 3 06-17-2008 07:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.