Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2014, 02:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 109
Share |
Default

Garage Door Opening Remote Codes Won't Reset


I have two liftmaster garage doors. Just bought a new remote. The first one I cleared the old codes, and programmed the new remote. Old remote no longer works and new remote works great. Everything is dandy.

The 2nd I followed the same procedure however old remote still works and new remote does not. I'm on this 3 hours now and pulling my hair out. What could be the issue? It seems like the 2nd opener is not allowing me to reset the remote codes???

marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 08:40 AM   #2
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,572
Default

Garage Door Opening Remote Codes Won't Reset


Marcus,
Are both openers the same model? Also, I'm assuming you have a multi- button remote? On the second opener, if your old remote is still working, the codes haven't been cleared. What model openers do you have and about how old are they?
Mike Hawkins

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 08:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 109
Default

Garage Door Opening Remote Codes Won't Reset


Mike-

Yes both openers are same model. Yes 3 button remote. Opener models is Liftmaster 2265 and is 14 years old.

I'm guessing the logic board is shot in the 2nd opener. Before I buy a new one I might try swapping the logic boards and see what happens.
marcus118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 07:46 PM   #4
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,572
Default

Garage Door Opening Remote Codes Won't Reset


Good idea Marcus. I install doors and openers and normally would not even consider fixing an older opener for a customer. See what happens, but if it needs a new board, I would replace the opener.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In theory: expand attached garage, or add detached garage? hyunelan2 Building & Construction 5 11-09-2012 05:34 PM
Craftsman Garage door car remote won t work, new battery and remote. William Cook Appliances 6 01-17-2012 09:19 PM
Expanding Garage INTO house (goodbye Den) texaopian Building & Construction 16 11-07-2011 10:32 PM
unconditioned garage reillyoevans HVAC 3 08-20-2011 06:29 PM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.