Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2010, 01:21 PM   #1
Kellster
 
mjkpainting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 67
Share |
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


I have a craftsman 1/2 horsepower garage door opener. Yesterday, I came home and all 3 remote controls didn't seem to work. I reprogrammed them. The only time they will work is when I have the remote control about 1 foot away from the unit. Other than that, they won't work. Does anyone have any suggestions???????
mjkpainting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 03:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


So the operator does raise and lower the door ok if:
  1. The hardware button inside the garage is used
  2. If any of the three remotes are within 1' of the operator
Both correct?


A couple throughts:
  • Batteries are good in all three remotes?
  • There is usually an antenna wire on the operator, 12-18" long or so - is it there and intact? If missing or damaged the radio range could be limited.
  • Something went awry with the reprogramming of the three remotes.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 03:17 PM   #3
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


change the batteries
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 03:20 PM   #4
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,152
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


I would start with checking the antenna. Batteries seem like a possibility, though the likelihood of all 3 going bad at the same time is not very high.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:05 PM   #5
Kellster
 
mjkpainting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 67
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
So the operator does raise and lower the door ok if:
  1. The hardware button inside the garage is used
  2. If any of the three remotes are within 1' of the operator
Both correct?


A couple throughts:
  • Batteries are good in all three remotes?
  • There is usually an antenna wire on the operator, 12-18" long or so - is it there and intact? If missing or damaged the radio range could be limited.
  • Something went awry with the reprogramming of the three remotes.
You gave the perfect summary Vsheetz. 1 and 2 are exactly correct. I'm not good with wording.

I did not check the batteries but will certainly do so. I just thought it to be very odd that all three remotes would go out at once.

The antenna seems to be in tact. It has a gray plastic covering. Should I strip a little of that wiring????????? I didn't want to try it b/c I truly didn't know what was inside.

One thing I didn't note was that we received A LOT of rain that day. Is it possible that the moisture could have effected it??????
mjkpainting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:47 PM   #6
Kellster
 
mjkpainting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 67
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


I changed the battery and i have the same results. How do I attempt fixing the antenna???
mjkpainting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


Quote:
Originally Posted by mjkpainting View Post
I changed the battery and i have the same results. How do I attempt fixing the antenna???
The antenna should be a insulated wire - no need to strip any insulation from it. If there and intact, it's probably ok. It typically just hangs free.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


Have you tried cycling the power to the operator? A POR (power on reset) - unplug it from AC power, pause for a few moments, then plug it back it.

If the problem persists it would have me wondering if something was wrong with the radio receiver in the opertor.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 06:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 294
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


Pretty unusual for all three to have the same problem. Typically remotes and receivers either work or they don't. Reduced range can be caused from interference interrupting the RF signal being sent to the receiver, a metal surface reflecting the signal away from the antenna or weak batteries.

If all three worked fine and then all have sudden reduced range down to one foot I'd begin by removing the batteries from all but one remote. Take them out of the loop. Then try the remaining remote with a new battery.

If you have the same results then more than likely you have a receiver problem. Moisture/water related or possible power surge damage if there was lightning.

After a few days whatever was damp should have dried out enough for the remotes to work again. If they don't then you might consider an new opener. Base price at the DIY is around $125 and they go up from there. For a little more than a service call you can have a new opener.

Just my 2
__________________
Shamus
Shamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 10:03 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Garage Door Opener (remote controls won't work)


Don't mean to state the obvious, but remember there is a switch on the wall control that will lock out all the remontes. Maybe that switch was set and there is a glitch that will allow them to work close to the opener?

I know, far fetched, but I've seen crazier stuff happen.
ericb1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical problem in garage ginaca Electrical 10 04-19-2009 06:51 PM
Garage ceiling and attic storage DIY KEN Building & Construction 7 01-06-2009 04:57 PM
Crazy Garage Extension, Building over blacktop?!?! commissure General DIY Discussions 4 09-13-2007 11:09 AM
Stanley Garage Door Opener? cibula11 General DIY Discussions 1 05-12-2007 03:02 PM
garage door lock jack_j General DIY Discussions 1 12-27-2006 06:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.