Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2007, 04:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

furnace and or electrical problems


I had a problem last year with power going out in certain rooms in the house when the furnace was on, i had an electrician look at the circuit breaker and tighten some of the screws which he said were loose after that i havent had any problems with the power going out. Looks like it started up again and it only seems to happen when the blower kicks in on the furnace. Could a furnace blower cut power to certain portions of the house. I went ahead and tested this today but cutting power to the affected areas of the house via the circuit breaker by leaving just the lights to the furnace room and furnace on, and again when the blower kicked in the lights flickered a bit and then the power went out on the furnace. Can anyone help not sure if this is a furnace issue or Electrical issue.

Thanks

Ian

tuasoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:46 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

furnace and or electrical problems


Loose connection somewhere. If this is affecting more than one circuit then it could be with the incoming power lines. Call your local POCO. Explain the problem and have them check all the connections from the pole to the house including in the meter socket.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Default

furnace and or electrical problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Loose connection somewhere. If this is affecting more than one circuit then it could be with the incoming power lines. Call your local POCO. Explain the problem and have them check all the connections from the pole to the house including in the meter socket.
Thank you very much it is affecting more than one circuit looks like every other circuit on the circuit breaker.
tuasoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 06:33 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

furnace and or electrical problems


Every other circuit indicates one of you hot legs has a connection problem. Could be anywhere from the main breaker to the ple connection.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 12:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13
Default

furnace and or electrical problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Every other circuit indicates one of you hot legs has a connection problem. Could be anywhere from the main breaker to the ple connection.
Problem Fixed

All it was was a loose bolt to one the legs that was going into the house from the meter block. Thanks to everyone who answered.
tuasoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Transfer Switch... caseywa HVAC 16 02-18-2008 09:14 AM
Furnace Help tuasoi HVAC 2 11-29-2007 12:54 PM
furnace or electrical help tuasoi Electrical 13 11-29-2007 12:53 PM
Furnace Electrical Supply.... caseywa HVAC 2 12-28-2006 10:37 AM
Goodman furnace: won't start Guyver03 HVAC 2 10-23-2006 02:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.