Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2010, 07:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


I have a forced hot water heater with baseboard radiators. There is no heat going to the house. Checked pilot light is on, bleed the boiler and got some sediment could this be the problem. There is about 12 psi on the thermostat and it's reads about 60 degrees. Could you guys help me with this please.
Thanks

Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:24 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,631
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


Be patient,there are two or three hydronic heating experts here---While you wait post the maker of the boiler and the number of zones--- and any thing that has been done to the system recently.

I know a bit about hydronic heat but only enough to confuse you.--Mike--

oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:31 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


This is the boiler it is a peerless. Gas and there is 1 zone.
Attached Images
 
Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


I really appreciate the help. I just bought this house in September and the problem is in my tenants apartment.
Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 08:15 PM   #5
DIY'er
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: norman, ok
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


Could there be any valves that need to be turned on to allow water to flow to the radiators? I don't know much about these seen shows like this old house that has talked about them. But even still if the water at the boiler is hot then to me the problem could be with the boiler.
dirtrider73068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


You can't read psi on a thermostat so I'm thinking just answering questions and posting pictures will be the best course of events.
If the house is one zone, either your tenant is not in your building or it's not 1 zone.
It would help if you could clarify where your tenant lives.
With you?
OR
Another location?
If in the same building as you, do you have heat?
Does the tenant have a thermostat?
Do you also have a thermostat?
Post pictures of the boiler that shows piping, pumps, wiring, etc..
Do you know what a circulator pump looks like?
Zone valve?
It could be something simple, so answering questions and postng pictures will help.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:52 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


3 apartments in the house 3 boilers. 1 for each apartment. U can tell the psi on the tricator or how ever it's spelled correct? I will post some pics.
Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:58 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


There is a thermostat in the apartment. There's 1 in each. And the other apartments have heat.
Attached Images
      
Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:38 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmudder View Post
There is a thermostat in the apartment. There's 1 in each. And the other apartments have heat.
This boiler is a leaking, neglected wreck. When was the last time it was serviced?
Is the pilot light on?
Is there water in the boiler?
When the thermostat calls for heat, does the boiler come on?
If not, it could be the thermostat or the thermocoupler on the pilot(ifit's not on).
If the pilot is on and the boiler fires up, does the pump turn on?
If the pump turns on and the radiators/baseboard are still cold, you might need to bleed the air out of the system.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:54 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


I don't know when the last time it was serviced I just bought the house in September. I jumped the thermostat out and not getting high flame.
Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 10:55 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


The pilot is on. And the boiler is full of water.
Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 01:09 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmudder View Post
The pilot is on. And the boiler is full of water.
There's a gas valve near the boiler. It's a 3 position knob. "ON", "Off" and "Pilot". Where is it positioned? If on "Pilot", move it to "ON".
After that if it doesn't fire, have it serviced.
Some local utilities have a service you can sign up for. They will do a yearly service on the boiler so these issues don't crop up too often.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 01:34 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


It's in the on position. I got it going. I spoke with a heating service. There gonna service all 3 boilers. These boilers need to be serviced every 5 years.
Thanks
HAPPY HALLOWEE
Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 01:53 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rmudder View Post
It's in the on position. I got it going. I spoke with a heating service. There gonna service all 3 boilers. These boilers need to be serviced every 5 years.
Thanks
HAPPY HALLOWEE
Don't keep me in suspense. What was the issue?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 02:02 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Forced hot water boiler help please


O sorry. There was no power. This was for my 3rd floor tenant and I found the breaker in the 2nd floor electrical panel.

Rmudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Water Boiler roger kadash Plumbing 3 10-28-2010 10:37 PM
boiler and hot water venting AdamBNYC Plumbing 3 08-26-2010 05:09 PM
Oil fired furnace and hot water heater question steveinpa Plumbing 3 08-10-2010 08:42 AM
Outside water boiler shutdown hillardl Plumbing 2 03-20-2009 05:27 PM
Filling a Cast Iron radiator system insulatorpro HVAC 7 10-06-2008 11:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.