Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > General DIY Discussions

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2012, 05:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Flash help


I want to make a type of Device that will put a Flash of Light off when I hit a botton.

You know like a Camara Flash but I can not find a place that sells just the Flash.

Can anyone help where to buy parts for Projects like this?

biferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 08:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Flash help


Quote:
Originally Posted by biferi View Post
I want to make a type of Device that will put a Flash of Light off when I hit a botton.

You know like a Camara Flash but I can not find a place that sells just the Flash.

Can anyone help where to buy parts for Projects like this?
Its called a strobe light! Here's a link to a supplier!

http://www.nextag.com/strobe_-_light...89099840209957

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 10:55 PM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Flash help


Photographic supply places will have strobes of all kinds also. They usually get tied into a camera shutter but you can use them for other things. Depending on the type you get and recharge rate you can trigger them with buttons, lasers, etc.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 12:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Flash help


Thank you for getting back to me but I want to make something that when I press the Botton it Flashes a Light. But I do not want a Light that will Blink like a Strobe.

I do not want a Disco Light just a Flash of Light.

What do I get?
biferi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 06:41 AM   #5
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Flash help


Photographic strobes will flash only when you want them to. The light source is separate from the power source on studio flash units.

By the way, a camera mounted strobe unit will be much cheaper and have a manual button. The units will generally not recycle as fast as studio strobes though.

I think all of this will make more sense when you visit a real photo store. I know photo stores are getting harder to find though. You might look on line. This is what an external camera strobe unit looks like. The studio units have a box that lights plug into. The box controls the discharge that flashes the lights.

Last edited by user1007; 06-02-2012 at 06:49 AM.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
metal roof flash problem? beresford Roofing/Siding 15 01-11-2012 11:30 AM
flash code 5 followed by a long flash tasse HVAC 6 12-23-2011 08:21 PM
How to install a flash (for a vent pipe ) properly Gnfanatic Roofing/Siding 34 06-08-2011 11:21 PM
How should I flash these windows? cumak Building & Construction 0 11-14-2010 11:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.